Lawrence Cultural Arts Commission announces 2014 Phoenix Awards

The Lawrence Cultural Arts Commission on Wednesday announced the recipients of the 2014 Phoenix Awards.

The annual honors, now in their 19th year, are meant to recognize outstanding artistic achievement in the Lawrence community, and present five awards from ten categories.

This year’s recipients, and their respective categories, are: Dr. Marilyn Stokstad (Arts Educator), Lauralyn Bodle (Musical Arts), Heidi Raak and The Raven Book Store (Creative Spaces), Lawrence Civic Choir (Performing Arts) and Lora Jost (Visual Arts).

The winners will receive custom awards from local ceramist Kim Brooks at a reception next month at the Lawrence Arts Center, 940 New Hampshire St. The event will be held 2 p.m. Nov. 2, and is free and open to the public.