City represented on all-league softball, baseball teams

Plenty of city baseball and softball players earned 2014 All-Sunflower League recognition.

Lawrence High juniors Morgan Byrn, Kenzie Garvin and Jolona Shield were first-team selections from the league’s softball coaches.

LHS sophomore Sophie Taylor was named the league’s Newcomer of the Year and picked up second-team honors. Senior Kristen Gile and junior pitcher Megan Sumonja also were chosen for the second team, while seniors Andrea Mills and Marly Carmona received honorable mention.

Free State High’s softball team placed two on the first team: sophomore Emily Byers and junior Emily Bermel. Senior Remington Samuels was a second-team selection, while senior Whitney Rothwell and junior Kylie Cobb were honorable mention.

LHS baseball had two seniors selected for the league’s first team: catcher Drew Green and pitcher Brandon Bell. Junior Michael Sinks and sophomore Parker Kirkpatrick were named to the second team.

FSHS junior Casey Hearnen was the Firebirds’ lone representative on the first team, as a closer. Hearnen was also placed on the second team as a third baseman, joining senior Zach Bickling.


First team infield: Austin Michaud, Sr., Olathe East; Brett Andersen, Sr., Olathe East; Ty Herrenbruck, Jr., Olathe East; Nick Banman, Sr., SM West.

First team outfield: Chase Redick, Jr., SM North; Nate Reeder, Jr., SM Northwest; Blaine Fisher, Sr., Olathe South; Jeff Skeens, Sr., Olathe East.

First team catcher: Drew Green, Sr., Lawrence.

First team pitchers: Austin Hansen, Jr., Olathe Northwest; Brandon Bell, Sr., Lawrence; Joey Wentz, Soph., SM East; Blaine Fisher, Sr., Olathe South.

First team closer: Casey Hearnen, Jr., Free State.

First team designated hitter: Joey Wentz, Soph., SM East.

First team utility player: Trey Austin, Sr., SM East.

Second team infield: Jacob Sylvester, Sr., SM West; Marshall Bland, Jr., SM South; Casey Hearnen, Jr., Free State; Michael Sinks, Jr., Lawrence.

Second team outfield: Jose Cardenas, Sr., Leavenworth; Mitchell Tyler, Sr., SM East; Zach Bickling, Sr., Free State; Casey Kelley, Jr., SM Northwest.

Second team catcher: Gunnar Troutwine, Sr., SM East.

Second team pitchers: Isaiah Campbell, Jr., Olathe South; Max Sanborn, Jr., SM East; Connor Leach, Sr., Olathe East; Tanner Kleinsasser, Jr., Olathe North.

Second team closer: John Bohnemann, Jr., Leavenworth.

Second team designated hitter: Matt Spellman, Sr., SM West.

Second team utility player: Parker Kirkpatrick, Soph., Lawrence.

Player of the Year: Austin Michaud, Sr., Olathe East.

Pitcher of the Year: Austin Hansen, Jr., Olathe Northwest.

Coach of the Year: John McDonald, Olathe East.


First team infield: Emily Byers, Soph., Free State; Morgan Byrn, Jr., Lawrence; Elizabeth Leonard, Sr., Olathe East; Mikayala Warren, Sr., Olathe Northwest; Kelsey Wright, Sr., Olathe Northwest.

First team outfield: Emily Bermel, Jr., Free State; McKenna Davis, Sr., Olathe East; Kenzie Garvin, Jr., Lawrence; Erin McGinley, Sr., SM East.

First team catcher: Reagan Hathaway, Jr., Olathe Northwest; Maddie McCracken, Jr., Olathe North.

First team pitchers: Allison Stewart, Sr., Olathe East; Lexi Storrer, Soph., Olathe South; Rowan Turner, Sr., SM East.

First team designated player: Sammi Bates, Soph., Olathe South.

First team utility player: Haylee McGhee, Fr., Olathe East; Jolona Shield, Jr., Lawrence.

Second team infield: Maddie Abbs, Sr., Olathe North; Kristen Gile, Sr., Lawrence; Kristina Jaderborg, Jr., SM Northwest; Sophie Taylor, Soph., Lawrence; Abby Weber, Soph., Olathe South.

Second team outfield: Maddie Boland, Soph., Olathe Northwest; Halle England, Fr., Olathe Northwest; Kennedy Poro, Jr., Olathe East; Remington Samuels, Sr., Free State.

Second team catcher: Kala Holder, Soph., Olathe South; Christina Mountain, Jr., SM South.

Second team pitchers: Natalie Hamm, Fr., Olathe Northwest; Mackenzie Saulnier, Jr., Olathe Northwest; Megan Sumonja, Jr., Lawrence.

Second team designated player: Delaney Brewer, Soph., SM Northwest.

Second team utility players: Bailey Boxberger, Soph., Olathe South; Abby King, Sr., SM South.

Honorable mention: Free State: Whitney Rothwell, Kylie Cobb; Lawrence: Andrea Mills, Marly Carmona; SM East: Shelby Harvey, Savannah Bellem; SM North: Courtney Humphreys, Chloe Green; SM South: Maggie Reid, Sidney Holler; SM Northwest: Lindsey Marcus, Taylor Roberts; SM West: Ashley Mercer, Dela Boyd; Olathe East: Sayde Woten, Kaylee Byers; Olathe North: Courtney Nemechek, Kayla Peak; Olathe Northwest: Kaity Kukowski, Mady Young; Olathe South: Alana Renshaw, Tristyn Delgado; Leavenworth: Layne Broeker, Anastasia Lucas.

Newcomer of the Year: Sophie Taylor, Soph., Lawrence.

Player of the Year: Reagan Hathaway, Jr., Olathe Northwest.

Coach of the Year: Mike Allen, Olathe South.