2 Lawrence students win National Merit awards

Two students from Lawrence schools are winners in the latest round of university-financed National Merit scholarships.

Reed Grabill, from Bishop Seabury Academy, and Amy Stahl, from Free State High School, are among more than 1,700 winners nationwide to receive scholarships announced Monday. Such awards range from $500 to $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study.

Grabill, who lists his probable career field as medicine, received his scholarship from Washington and Lee University.

Stahl, who lists her probable career field as social science, received her scholarship from Northeastern University.

The scholarships are in addition to another 2,700 college-financed awards announced in May.