LJWorld.com weblogs Elections 2014

County, township races drawing little competition


With less than a week to go before the filing deadline at noon Monday, races for Douglas County Commissioner and various township clerk positions are drawing scant interest.

Only one county seat is up for election this year - the First District County Commission seat currently held by Democrat Mike Gaughan. He has filed for re-election and so far has not drawn opposition.

That's starting to become a familiar theme in Douglas County races. In 2012, there was no competition for any of the countywide elected offices - sheriff, district attorney, treasurer, county clerk and register of deeds. And Third District Commissioner Jim Flory, a Republican, also ran unopposed. The only contested seat was for the Second District commission seat, in which incumbent Democrat Nancy Thelman defeated Republican challenger Frank Male.

The only other local government offices up for election this year are some township clerk positions. Here is a list of the candidates who have filed so far:

Clinton Township Clerk

• Bret Vannicola, Republican

• David Devore, Republican

Grant Township Clerk
• Randy Hartford, Republican

Kanwaka Township Clerk

• Jeanne Waisner, Republican

Marion Township Clerk

• Franklin A. Rhodes, Republican


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.