Garrett Luinstra, Sam Stroh garner top Sunflower League awards

Free State senior Garrett Luinstra (3) cuts through defenders in the Firebirds’ 6A state championship loss against Blue Valley Northwest on Saturday, March 10, 2018 at Charles Koch Arena in Wichita.

Free State senior Garrett Luinstra earned Sunflower League Player of the Year honors and Free State’s Sam Stroh was named the boys basketball Coach of the Year, announced Sunday.

Luinstra, who led the Firebirds to their first Class 6A state championship appearance in program history, averaged 19 points per game. He will walk on at the University of Kansas next year.

Lawrence High junior Brett Chapple and Free State senior Jalan Robinson were selected second-team all-league. LHS junior Clarence King and Free State senior Zach McDermott landed on the third team.

Free State senior Reece White-Downing, along with Lawrence High senior Anthony Selden and junior Trey Quartlebaum, received honorable mentions.

For the girls, Lawrence High senior E’lease Stafford, signed to play at East Tennessee State, was named first-team all-league for the third straight season.

Lawrence junior Chisom Ajekwu was named to the second team. LHS senior Talima Harjo and Free State sophomore CK Kesten were chosen for the third team.

Free State freshman Shannon Clarke and LHS junior Hannah Stewart were given an honorable mention.

Stroh was named Coach of the Year for the second consecutive year after guiding the Firebirds to back-to-back league titles.

2017-18 All-Sunflower League basketball teams


First team: Jarrett Hensley, jr., SM North; Tymer Jackson, jr., Olathe North; Garrett Luinstra, sr., Free State; Zane Meeks, jr., SM East; Luke Waters, sr., Olathe Northwest.

Second team: Brett Chapple, jr., Lawrence; Jackson Nicodemus, sr., Olathe Northwest; Jalan Robinson, sr., Free State; Hunter Schneider, sr., SM South; Cameron Southern, sr., SM West.

Third team: Kelyn Bolton, sr., SM East; C.C. Ghilardi, sr., SM Northwest; Clarence King, jr., Lawrence; Kaleb Mackey, sr., Olathe East; Alston Mason, fr., Olathe West; Zach McDermott, sr., Free State.

Honorable mention: Free State: Reece White-Downing; Gardner Edgerton: Tyler Rollwagen; Lawrence: Trey Quartlebaum, Anthony Selden; Leavenworth: Zach Thiel; Olathe East: Luke Stuewe, KT Raimey; Olathe North: Marcus Davis, Lukas Milner; Olathe Northwest: Jack Parks; Olathe South: Zach Toutges, Ryan Koval; Olathe West: Cougar Downing, Dominic Messina; SM East: Jack Schoemann, Noah Kurlbaum; SM North: Zach Nelson; SM Northwest: Verlee McCullough, Dale Talley; SM South: Jake Potthoff, Mac Wissell, Evan Hickman; SM West: Ring Ring, Eric Rhymes, Markell Hood.

Freshman of the year: Alston Mason, Olathe West.

Sophomore of the year: KT Raimey, Olathe East.

Player of the year: Garrett Luinstra, Free State.

Coach of the year: Sam Stroh, Free State.


First team: Sarah Beth Gueldner, jr., Olathe Northwest; Jordann Nachbar, sr., SM Northwest; E’Lease Stafford, sr., Lawrence; Skylar Washington, sr., Gardner Edgerton; Sydney Wilson, sr., Olathe East.

Second team: Chisom Ajekwu, jr., Lawrence; LeLe Love, so., SM North; Leyanna McGinnis, jr., Olathe North; Kierra Prim, so., SM West; Makenna Winemiller, jr., Olathe East.

Third team: Hannah Black, jr., SM Northwest; Bailey Collar, fr., Olathe West; Christen Curry, sr., Olathe Northwest; Talima Harjo, sr., Lawrence; Caroline Harshbarger, jr., Olathe South; Caely Kesten, so., Free State; Robyn MacDonald, sr., SM South; Kynli Nelson, sr., Gardner Edgerton; Cierra Robinson, sr., Leavenworth; Dani Winslow, so., Olathe South.

Honorable mention: Gardner Edgerton: Sofia Semon, Taylor Carpenter; Free State: Shannon Clarke; Lawrence: Hannah Stewart; Leavenworth: Alyche Brown, McKinzie Brown, Alesha Jones; Olathe East: Molly Kaemmer, Katie Gleason; Olathe Northwest: Kaylie Kappelmann; Olathe West: Anailya Uhde, Ayaiana Uhde; Olathe South: Izzy Pierce; SM East: Sarah Bingham, Jordan Yowell; SM North: Kylie Dunn; SM Northwest: D’asya Collier-Williams; SM South: Karoline Shelton; SM West: Khaliah Hines, Jheda Kennedy.

Co-Players of the year: Sydney Wilson, Olathe East.

Coach of the year: Clint Evans, Olathe East.