Dante Jackson named league co-MVP, Lisher repeats as Coach of the Year

Lawrence High senior quarterback Dante Jackson (1) breaks a tackle against Lee's Summit West on Friday at LHS.

Lawrence High senior quarterback Dante Jackson was given the Sunflower League’s co-Most Valuable Player honors and Free State coach Bob Lisher repeated as the league’s Coach of the Year.

Jackson, who split MVP honors with Shawnee Mission East’s Milton Braasch, rushed for 1,215 yards and 12 touchdowns while passing for 974 yards and 13 scores. Jackson joins Amani Bledsoe as the second LHS player to be named MVP in the past three years.

LHS seniors Ekow Boye-Doe (defensive back), Kristian Russell (offensive line) Jalen Dudley (receiver) and Jackson (quarterback, punt returner) were first-team all-league selections.

Free State seniors Kwinton Lassiter (defensive back), Nathan Spain (defensive line), Spencer Roe (defensive line), David Johnson (linebacker), Gage Foster (linebacker), Gabe Clark (offensive line), Jalan Robinson (offensive line) and Jake Rittman (punter), along with junior Jax Dineen (running back), were first team picks.

Jackson (punter), Boye-Doe (receiver) and LHS senior Hunter Krom (running back) were chosen for the second team with Free State senior Jack Theisen (tight end), juniors Keenan Garber (defensive back, receiver) and Kameron Lake (kicker) and sophomore Turner Corcoran (offensive line).

Free State’s honorable mention recipients were Gabe del Valle (defensive back), Malik Berry (defensive back), Vani Martinez-Vazquez (defensive back), Lovette Epelle (defensive line), Bo Miller (linebacker), Jalen Nash (linebacker), Ben Holiday (offensive line), Shane Skwarlo (offensive line), Foster (quarterback), Jordan Preston (quarterback) and Rittman (receiver).

LHS players chosen for an honorable mention were Harrison King (defensive back), Ja’Relle Dye (defensive back), EJ Jewsome (defensive line), Ross Brungardt (kicker), Caleb Mondi (linebacker), Bailey Greer (offensive line), Bryce Tibke (offensive line), Jacob Mills (offensive line) and Nick Englebert (offensive line).