Lisher named league’s Coach of the Year

Free State High coach Bob Lisher yells instructions to his defense from the sidelines during the Firebirds' homecoming game against Olathe South on Friday night at FSHS.

Free State High football coach Bob Lisher was named the Sunflower League’s Coach of the Year on Sunday after leading the Firebirds to their first league title since 2013.

In addition to Lisher, several city football players earned all-league honors.

Free State seniors Zack Sanders (receiver, defensive back, punt returner), Jay Dineen (linebacker, offensive line), Zion Bowlin (running back), Chase Houk (offensive line), Noah Kema (defensive line) and Jake Rittman (punter), along with Lawrence High seniors Cole Brungardt (kicker), Kobe Buffalomeat (offensive line), Trey Moore (running back) and Jacob Unruh (defensive line) earned first-team all-league honors.

Lawrence High junior Dante Jackson (punt returner, punter), senior James Reeder (defensive back) and sophomore Clarence King (receiver), and Free State junior Gage Foster (linebacker) and sophomore kicker Kameron Lake (kicker) were placed on the second team.

The following FSHS players received an honorable mention: seniors Dallas Crittenden, Daniel Bryant, Drew Wise, Noah Kema (tight end), Sam Hambleton and Zion Bowlin (defensive back), juniors David Johnson, Gabe del Valle, Nathan Spain and Spencer Roe, and sophomore Jax Dineen.

Honorable mention choices from LHS were seniors BJ Murry, Erik Shackelford, James Reeder (running back), Kevin Nichols, Mark Greene and Santino Gee, juniors Ekow Boye-Doe, Jacob Mills, Jalen Dudley, Kristian Russell, and sophomore Eric Galbreath.