Lions’ Bledsoe, Wedd earn top league honors

Lawrence High Lineman Amani Bledsoe has been named Sunflower League MVP.

Lawrence High senior lineman Amani Bledsoe was named the Sunflower League’s Andre Maloney Most Valuable Player and LHS football coach Dirk Wedd earned Coach of the Year honors after leading the Lions to a 10-1 record and the school’s first league title since 1993.

Bledsoe highlighted a group of eight city players who earned first-team all-league selections, which included LHS senior lineman Trey Georgie, tight end/linebacker Price Morgan, running back J.D. Woods, cornerback Ivan Hollins, punter Alan Clothier, Free State senior quarterback/free safety Bryce Torneden and running back/linebacker Sam Skwarlo. Bledsoe, Georgie, Morgan, Torneden and Skwarlo were first team picks on both sides of the ball.

Lions’ head coach Dirk Wedd was named 2015 coach of the year in the Sunflower League.

Free State tight end/defensive lineman Darian Lewis, offensive lineman Tanner Liba, offensive lineman Chase Houk, receiver Zack Sanders, linebacker Jay Dineen, and Lawrence punt returner Dante’ Jackson and kicker Cole Brungardt were chosen for the second team.

The following LHS players earned an honorable mention: Clothier (quarterback), Trey Moore (running back), Nate Koehn (defensive line), Tanner Green (linebacker), Konner Kelley (linebacker), Luke Padia (receiver), J’Mony Bryant (receiver) and Jacob Unruh (defensive line).

Honorable mention choices from FSHS were Dineen (offensive line), Sanders (cornerback), Paul Bittinger (linebacker), Logan McKinney (receiver), Drew Tochtrop (linebacker), Jalen Galloway (defensive line), Zion Bowlin (running back/safety) and Kameron Lake (kicker).