High School Sports

High School Sports

Roberts leads city boys on All-League rosters

March 19, 2014, 12:00 a.m. Updated March 19, 2014, 3:50 p.m.


Lawrence High sophomore Justin Roberts was named the Sunflower League’s Sophomore of the Year and was the only non-senior to be recognized on the first-team All-League boys basketball team.

Roberts, who was named Freshman of the Year last season, led the Lions with 17.2 points per game.

LHS junior Anthony Bonner, who averaged 16.2 points per game, earned second-team honors, while Free State senior Cole Moreano made the third team.

Free State seniors Khadre Lane, Keith Loneker and Blake Winslow, along with LHS junior John Barbee, were honorable mention.

2013-14 All-Sunflower League


First team: Noah Knight, Sr. Olathe South; Caelan Neal, Sr., Olathe East; Justin Roberts, Soph., Lawrence; Ezra Talbert, Sr., Olathe East; Brady Skeens, Sr., SM Northwest.

Second team: Anthony Bonner Jr., Lawrence; Lucas Jones, Jr., SM East; Dainan Swoope, Jr., SM South; Cameron Wiggins, Sr., Leavenworth; Julian Winton, Sr., Olathe North.

Third team: Deangelo Bruster, Jr., SM South; Keaton Cross, Sr., SM Northwest; Scott Johnson, Sr., SM North; Easton Koch, Sr., Olathe Northwest; Cole Moreano, Sr., Free State.

Honorable mention: Free State: Khadre Lane, Keith Loneker, Blake Winslow; Lawrence: John Barbee; Leavenworth: Collin Anderson; Olathe East: Brady Kaemmer, Justin Matthews; Olathe North: Josh Moore, Jack Todd; Olathe Northwest: Morgan Funk; Olathe South: Taylor Filbert; SM East: Colin Burns, Joey Wentz; SM North: Michael Weathers; SM South: Devin Newsome; SM West: Mitch Wade, Louis Rollins; SM Northwest: Jake Horner, Warren Specht.

Freshman of the year: Zach Witters, SM West.

Sophomore of the year: Justin Roberts, Lawrence.

Player of the year: Brady Skeens, SM Northwest.

Coach of the year: Mike Rose, SM Northwest.


First team: Marleah Campbell, Sr., SM West; Arielle Jackson, Jr., SM Northwest; Tyler Johnson, Jr., Leavenworth; LaTashia Jones, Jr., Leavenworth; Kylee Kopatich, Jr., Olathe South; Madison Piper, Fr., Free State; Bailey Rinehart, Sr., Olathe South; Sierra Roberts, Sr., SM South; Brenni Rose, Soph, SM Northwest; Regan Stone, Sr., Olathe East; Scout Wiebe, Sr., Free State.

Second team: Rachel Blackburn, Jr., Leavenworth; Kionna Coleman, Sr., Lawrence; Allison Hines, Sr., SM South; Shaleia Jamison, Jr., Olathe Northwest; Erin McGinley, Sr., SM East; Jordan Morton, Jr., Olathe South; Shea Shipman, Sr., Olathe Northwest; Brooklyn Wagler, Jr., SM Northwest; Emma Zeck, Sr., Leavenworth.

Honorable mention: Free State: Millie Shade; Lawrence: Makayla Bell, Marissa Pope; SM North: Darian Dozier; SM East: Kyle Hoverty, Molly Ross; SM West: Anna Karlin, Kenzie Loe, Morgan Mauck; SM Northwest: Tatum Graves, Amanda Hoelting; Olathe North: Syrra Lindsey; Olathe South: Samantha Samskey; Olathe East: Lauren Kirk, Amy Waechter; Olathe Northwest: Sydney Mortensen.

Player of the year: Kylee Kopatich, Olathe South.

Coaches of the year: Jeff Dickson, SM Northwest; Steve Ingram, Olathe South.

March 19th update:

A couple of honorable mention athletes were missing in the original press release sent to the Journal-World, including Free State senior Blake Winslow. The corrections have been made to the above listings.


Arnie Bunkers 3 years, 10 months ago

Did the girls have a "Freshman of the year"? Looks like Pipes was the only freshman on first team, I assume she was freshman of the year?

Commenting has been disabled for this item.