Archive for Tuesday, February 18, 2014

Four KU students nominated for Goldwater scholarships

February 18, 2014


Contact KU and higher ed reporter Sara Shepherd
Have a tip or story idea?
More stories

Four Kansas University students are up for Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships, awards that assist undergraduates pursuing careers in math, science and engineering.

Established by Congress in 1986 and named after the former Arizona senator and Republican presidential candidate, the scholarships provide up to $7,500 annually for tuition, books, fees, and room and board.

Since 1989, when the scholarships were first awarded, 55 KU students have won the scholarships.

Sophomore and juniors are eligible and chosen based on their research experience, academic records and potential for careers in scientific and engineering fields.

Winners for the 2014 Goldwater scholarships will be announced in March.

KU's nominees this year:

  • Ashley Farris, from Wichita, a junior in biochemistry;
  • Alex Kong, from Lawrence, a junior in pharmacy;
  • Ryan Limbocker, from Overland Park, a junior in chemistry;
  • Kayla Sale, from Olathe, a junior in biology and mathematics.


Commenting has been disabled for this item.