High School Sports

High School Sports

All-State softball taps 3 from city

June 13, 2013


The Kansas Softball Coaches Association named three city players to the 2013 Class 6A All-State first team.

Free State High senior shortstop A’Liyah Rogers, Firebirds junior first baseman Whitney Rothwell and Lawrence High sophomore utility player Morgan Byrn were among the 23 first-team selections in 6A.

LHS sophomore utility player Kenzie Garvin earned second-team honors.

A slew of area players also received all-state recognition. In 5A, Mill Valley senior shortstop Kelli Spring made the first team, while fellow Jaguars sophomore pitcher Lexie Myers, sophomore catcher Laci Myers and junior infielder Abby Ford appeared on the second team.

Leading 4A’s first team as unanimous selections were members of state champion De Soto: senior pitcher Sophia Templin and senior first baseman Lauren Mabe. Their teammates, senior shortstop Hunter Klamm and junior outfielder Cassidy Berry, also earned first-team status, and junior catcher Ashley Mars was a second-team pick.

Senior outfielders Jordan Erickson (Perry-Lecompton) and Sierra Hall (Baldwin) also made 4A’s second team.

Wellsville junior infielder Justine Dougan appeared on the 3A second team.

In 2-1A, McLouth junior third baseman Konner Patterson was a first-team selection, and Oskaloosa freshman pitcher Haidyn Bassett made the second team.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.