Archive for Sunday, January 13, 2013

Two county commissioners to be sworn in Monday

January 13, 2013


Two Douglas County commissioners who were re-elected in November will be sworn into office Monday morning to start new four-year terms.

Second District Commissioner Nancy Thellman, a Democrat, was re-elected Nov. 6 after defeating her Republican challenger Frank Male. Third District Commissioner Jim Flory, a Republican, faced no opposition last year.

Thellman and Flory will be sworn in during a special county commission meeting at 9 a.m. Monday in the Douglas County Courthouse, 1100 Massachusetts St.

After the ceremonies, commissioners will continue with an informal work session to discuss the county's 2013 Capital Improvements Plan.

Last month, commissioners began discussing the possibility of scaling back some major road improvement projects slated for the next couple of years due to anticipated declines in local property tax revenue.

At 6:35 p.m. Monday, commissioners will reconvene to consider a detailed reclamation plan for Phase VI of the Big Springs Quarry, 2 North 1700 Road. Plans for that reclamation have been submitted by Professional Engineering Consultants for Mid-States Materials, the quarry operator.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.