High School Sports

High School Sports

Kennedy Kirkpatrick first-team all-league

March 27, 2012


City athletes from Free State and Lawrence high schools were among the many honored by Sunflower League coaches on the 2011-12 all-league teams for girls and boys basketball.

Free State girls junior guard Kennedy Kirkpatrick was the lone first-team selection from Lawrence.

The second teams had one city representative apiece: Lawrence boys senior guard Logan Henrichs and FSHS senior girls guard Lynn Robinson.

While the girls teams were split into two 10-player lists, the boys teams had three five-player lists, and Free State senior guard Brett Frantz made the All-Sunflower League third team.

Several city players garnered honorable mention on the all-league teams, too: junior Monica Howard and sophomore Kionna Coleman, LHS girls; senior Jackie Garcia and junior Chelsea Casady, FSHS girls; seniors Anthony Buffalomeat and KJ Pritchard, junior Jake Mosiman and sophomore Bryce Montes de Oca, LHS boys; and senior Gabe Patterson, FSHS boys.

Olathe South senior guard Megan Balcom was named the girls player of the year, and Olathe Northwest’s Joel Branstrom was selected as girls coach of the year.

ONW senior guard Shavon Shields was voted the boys player of the year in the Sunflower League, and his coach, Mike Grove, was coach of the year.

On the boys side, Olathe South’s Noah Knight was tabbed sophomore of the year and Shawnee Mission South’s Dainan Swoope was freshman of the year. Those awards are not given for girls basketball.

Girls first team: Emmy Allen, Shawnee Mission South; Megan Balcom, Olathe South; Kelsey Brooks, Olathe Northwest; Kylie Gafford, Olathe East; Alex Hugo, Olathe South; Kennedy Kirkpatrick, Free State; Caroline Nick, Shawnee Mission East; Alyssa Palmer, Olathe East; McKayla Ross, Shawnee Mission Northwest; Jessica Sheble, Olathe North.

Girls second team: Katie Biggers, Shawnee Mission Northwest; Michaela Crall, Olathe Northwest; Jaylah Jackson, Olathe Northwest; Tashia Jones, Leavenworth; Kylee Kopatich, Olathe South; Taylor McDowell, Shawnee Mission South; Shannon McGinley, Shawnee Mission East; Molly Norburg, Shawnee Mission West; Bailey Rinehart, Olathe South; Lynn Robinson, Free State.

Boys first team: Willie Cauley, Olathe Northwest; Dylan Christie, Shawnee Mission South; Grant Greenberg, Leavenworth; Noah Knight, Olathe South; Shavon Shields, Olathe Northwest.

Boys second team: Trey Bales, Olathe Northwest; Logan Henrichs, Lawrence; Blaine Miller, Olathe East; Tyler Thomas, Olathe South; Vance Wentz, Shawnee Mission East.

Third team: Brett Frantz, Free State; Preston Padgett, Leavenworth; Josh Pedersen, Shawnee Mission South; Zach Schneider, Shawnee Mission East; Jay Tamaat, Shawnee Mission West.


diggumpops 6 years, 2 months ago

Wow. The boys coaches in the Sunflower League should be ashamed of themselves. Vance Wentz only on the 2nd team? The best player in Lawrence, Brett Frantz, on the third team? No KJ Pritchard or Anthony Buffalomeat? Noah Knight on the first team? The leading scorer for Olathe East, Kyle Smith, left off?

Commenting has been disabled for this item.