Archive for Friday, March 2, 2012

Douglas, 18 other counties covered by Brownback disaster declaration

March 2, 2012


TOPEKA — Gov. Sam Brownback has declared a disaster emergency in 19 counties hit this week by violent weather, including the storm that spawned a deadly tornado in the eastern Kansas town of Harveyville.

The governor's disaster declaration Thursday brings the state into the response to the storms.

Brownback had already declared of a state of emergency Tuesday night in Wabaunsee County after the tornado hit Harveyville. But other areas also had damaging winds, hail and tornadoes.

In addition to Wabaunsee County, the new declaration covers the following counties: Butler, Chautauqua, Coffey, Cowley, Crawford, Douglas, Franklin, Harper, Kingman, Labette, Leavenworth, Marion, Montgomery, McPherson, Reno, Republic, Sumner and Wilson counties.


BorderRat 6 years, 1 month ago

Shouldn't the whole state fall under a Brownback disaster?

Commenting has been disabled for this item.