Archive for Tuesday, June 5, 2012

Area legislators seeking re-election

June 5, 2012


Most of Douglas County’s delegation to the Kansas Legislature have set their plans to seek re-election.

Sen. Marci Francisco, D-Lawrence, and Reps. Barbara Ballard, D-Lawrence, Paul Davis, D-Lawrence, TerriLois Gregory, R-Baldwin City, Ann Mah, D-Topeka, and Tom Sloan, R-Lawrence, have filed for office.

Francisco has drawn a Republican opponent, Matthew Windheuser in Senate District 2; and Mah will face a Republican, Aimee Rosenow, for House District 53.

Republican J.C. Tellefson of Leavenworth has filed to run in Senate District 3. Incumbent Tom Holland, D-Baldwin City, has not filed yet.

State Rep. Anthony Brown, R-Eudora, also has not filed for office yet, according to the Secretary of State’s list of candidates.

Ballard, Davis, Gregory, and Sloan have not drawn any opposition.

The deadline for candidates to file in legislative races is noon Monday.


Mike1949 5 years, 11 months ago

I urge any liberal or Independent to run, please give the people a choice. We can only stop the Republican destruction of our state by voting. If anything, I would settle for a moderate Republican who has the guts to be a leader, not a follower!

Commenting has been disabled for this item.