Archive for Monday, April 18, 2011

2011 Focus Film Festival crowns winners

April 18, 2011


Winners of the 2011 Focus Film Festival, sponsored by Lawrence High School, were announced Sunday afternoon at Liberty Hall.

Students from 15 high schools entered about 85 films for the contest, which was judged by a group of local film experts — Marc Havener, Jon Niccum, Tamara Falicov and Patrick Rea — as well as the Oscar-nominated director of “Winter’s Bone,” Debra Granik.

Lawrence High students won several awards, with prizes going to Zoey Hearn, Megan Fleming, Bailie Richards, Tara Bryant, Ashley Kennedy, Kathryn Lunte, C.J. Roush and Clare Payne.

The complete list of winners:

Best Science Fiction/Fantasy: “Them,” by Andy Shepherd, Olathe Northwest High School.

Best Original Music Video: “Black Car,” by Robert Smith, Blue Valley CAPS.

Best Documentary: “Gymnastics,” by Jon Hargett, Olathe Northwest High School.

Best Experimental: “The Face of The Waters,” by Zoey Hearn, LHS.

Best Animation: “Storybook,” by Cedwan Hooks, Shawnee Mission North High School.

Best Horror/Suspense: “Cold,” by Megan Fleming, LHS.

Best Comedy: “Exposure,” by Brian Schwabauer and Kevin Sikes, Shawnee Mission South High School.

Best Music Video: “Prayer of the Refugee,” by Bailie Richards, LHS.

Best Drama: “At The Table,” by Zoey Hearn, LHS.

Best Editing (tie): “Encounters of the Unknown,” by Robert Smith, Blue Valley CAPS; and “Winter Song,” by Kathryn Lunte and Clare Payne, LHS.

Best Acting: Clare Payne and C.J. Roush from LHS in Megan Fleming’s film “Tracks.”

Best Cinematography: “Trapped in My Mind,” by Andrew Lovgren, Olathe Northwest.

Best Screenplay: “Tracks,” by Megan Fleming, LHS.

Fan Favorite: “Birth and Death of the Day,” by Tara Bryant and Ashley Kennedy, LHS.

Best in Show: “Prayer of the Refugee,” by Bailie Richards, LHS.


make_a_difference 7 years ago

I'm interested in seeing these films. Is there a source for viewing them?

Commenting has been disabled for this item.