Archive for Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Health department board expands

March 24, 2010


Five new members will join the Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department board next month.

The county and city commissions recently approved expanding the board from five to seven members. They also added an ex officio member appointed by the Kansas University chancellor. The city still needs to appoint one person to the board.

Here are the new members already chosen: Maley Wilkins, community president at Peoples Bank and a former school board member; Ray Davis, retired KU professor in public administration; Amy Biel, Kansas Health Institute analyst; and Carol Seager, director of KU’s Student Health Services.

These remaining board members were elected to office Monday: Dr. Gerald Pees, of Internal Medicine Group, chairman; Shirley Martin-Smith, owner of Adecco staffing franchise in Lawrence, vice chairwoman; and Paul Liechti, assistant director of the Kansas Biological Survey, treasurer.


just_another_bozo_on_this_bus 8 years, 2 months ago

So, looking at the existing board, my question is why Martin-Smith and Wilkens are even there?

Commenting has been disabled for this item.