Archive for Saturday, April 3, 2010

Around and about

April 3, 2010


Emporia State University announces area students named to the honor roll for the fall 2009 semester, by earning a minimum 3.8 grade-point average.

They are: Kelly Schaffer, Basehor; Jessica Bond, Amber Jackson and April Robbs, Baldwin City; Victoria Crocker and Marcie Fundis, Berryton; Amanda Atchison, Emily Hedge, Daniel Quillin and Crystal Sedars, De Soto; Chad Barker, Jacqueline Brazil, Kathleen Finnegan, Kelly Forsyth, Jaymie Hardtarfer, Kerri Hertlein, Olson Kilmer, Karen Kroge, Jacob Kucza, Raymond Lee, Caroline Markley, Katie McClain, Elise McDonald, Emily McDonald, Daniel O’Connell, Natalie Rabiola, Amber Wealthall, Mallory West and Jordan Yulich, Lawrence; Whitney Czajkowski and Anthony Pence, Meriden; Myla Heston, Oskaloosa; Valerie Barkley, Kelsey Griest, Emily Harvey, Tiffany Morrow and Mandy Todd, Ottawa; Chase McIver, Overbrook; Chelsea Calovich, Sarah Edwards, Amanda Lenon and Stephanie Reynolds, Tonganoxie; and Megan Cleveland and Sheila Fowler, Wellsville.

Ottawa University announces area students named to its honor roll and dean’s list for the fall 2009 semester. Students named to the honor roll have earned at least 12 semester hours during the preceding semester, and maintained a grade-point average of at least 3.5. Those named to the dean’s list have earned a minimum of 24 semester hours over the preceding two semesters, and have a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.5.

Area students named to honor roll were: Clad Kueffer, Baldwin City; Kyle Van Meter, Eudora; Courtney Harris, Lawrence; and Brock McGinnis, Oskaloosa.

Area students named to the dean’s list were: Clyde Kueffer and Cyrus Oliver II, Baldwin City; Emily McAfoos, Basehor; Kelsey Nelson, Tonganoxie; and Jolene Rutledge, Wellsville.

Spencer Wilson of Eudora, a senior accounting major, was among more than 200 new members inducted into Harding University’s chapter of Alpha Chi, the national intercollegiate honor society. New members were inducted March 21.

Daniel Pugnetti, Lawrence, was named to the dean’s list for the fall 2009 semester at Maryville University in St. Louis, by maintaining a grade-point average of at least 3.3.

Emily Coatney, Lawrence, was named a first-year scholar for the fall 2009 semester at the University of Northern Colorado in Greeley, by earning a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher.

Joseph Scraper, Baldwin City, will celebrate his 80th birthday from 1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. April 17 at the American Legion Hall in downtown Baldwin City. Friends and family unable to attend may send cards to Scraper at P.O. Box 366, Baldwin City, KS 66006.

The Douglas County Science Fair was Feb. 1- 6 at the Douglas County 4-H Fairgrounds.

Area students earning trophies in life science were:

• Kindergarten and first-grade — Andrew Mullen and Claire Mullen, home school, first; Jack Bellemere, Raintree Montessori, second; and Hunter Glanton and Milena Hubbell, Wakarusa Valley School, third.

• Second and third grades — Carl Jacobsen, Wakarusa Valley, first; Smitha Ramesh, Langston Hughes School, second; Logan Grose, Broken Arrow School, third; and Kenzie Rorabaugh, Quail Run School, honorable mention.

• Fourth grade — Mason Koger, St. John’s Catholic School, first; and Mia Waters and Tabetha Faith, Wakarusa Valley, second.

• Fifth grade — Joanna Tefft, home school, first; Margaret Lochwood, Langston Hughes, second; Luke Winchester and Tish Old, Deerfield School, third; and Lacy Vesecky and Jasmine Thevarajoo, Eudora Elementary, honorable mention.

• Sixth grade — Catherine DeVillier, home school, first; Hanna Grubbs, Veritas Christian School, second; Liv Lyche, Quail Run, third; and Genevieve Voight and Aimee Neilsen, Wakarusa Valley, honorable mention.

• Ninth to 12th grades — Luke Lesslie, first; Zoe Reece and Catherine Norwood, second; Scott Voigt, third; and Julia Drahozal and Emily Sadosky, honorable mention, all of Southwest Junior High School.

Area students earning trophies in physical science were:

• Kindergarten and first-grade — Audrey Durst, Lawrence Virtual School, first; Cole Mandi, Wakarusa Valley School, second; Shirsha Bahattachan and Dilip Kushua-Reddy, Cordley School, third; and Allie Rorabaugh, Century School, honorable mention.

• Second and third grades — Lucas Gottschamer, Wakarusa Valley, first; Aaron Mullen and Christopher Ritter, home school, second; Sarah Steinle, Hillcrest School, third; and Ryan Lauts, Wakarusa Valley, honorable mention.

• Fourth grade — Natalie Grubbs and Jeremiah Grubbs, home school, first; Devin Lauts, Wakarusa Valley, second; Alexis Lock and Jimmy Lock, Wakarusa Valley, third; and Caleb Arnett, home school, honorable mention.

• Fifth grade — Grace Hawkins, Lawrence Virtual, first; Sabrea Platz, Langston Hughes, second; Lauren Howard, Eudora Elementary, third; and Caleb Othick, home school, honorable mention.

• Sixth grade — Chaeyoung Park, first; Grace Bradshaw, second; Alex Tharp, third; and Reagan Kanter, honorable mention, all of Veritas.

• Seventh and eighth grades — Joshua Gregory, Lawrence Virtual/home school, first; and Sebastian Scholl and Donan Scholl, Lawrence Virtual, second.

• Ninth to 12th grades — Ethan Miles, first; and Kira Alexander, second, both of Southwest.

Area students earning medals were:

• Second and third grades — Logan Grose, Broken Arrow; Kenzie Rorabaugh and Avalok Bahattachan, Quail Run; Simon Orr, Lecompton; Lucas Gottschamer and Lee Nelson, Wakarusa Valley; Sarah Steinle, Jodi Gore and Jazlynn Morales, Sarah Lee and Bayn Schraderr, all of Hillcrest; Shrivatsa Malladi, Langston Hughes; and Jackson Berland, Sunflower.

• Fourth grade — Mason Koger, St. John’s; Alexis Lock and Jimmy Lock, Wakarusa Valley; Caleb Arnett, home school; and Ruby Morris, Deerfield.

• Fifth grade — Margaret Lochwood and Sabrea Platz, Langston Hughes; Grace Hawkins, Lawrence Virtual; Lauren Howard and Katelyn Ormsby, Eudora; and Caleb Othick, home school.

• Sixth grade — Chaeyoung Park, Isaiah Garrett and Grace Bradshaw, all of Veritas; and Avery Allen, Quail Run.

• Seventh and eighth grades — Joshua Gregory, Sebastian Scholl and Donan Scholl, Lawrence Virtual.

• Ninth and 12th grades — Luke Lesslie, Zoe Reece, Catherine Norwood, Julia Drahozal, Emily Sadosky, Sam Hearnen, Brandon Juracek, Christian Eisenhouer, Attie Pennybaker, Kelsey Trast, Kat Sterbenz, Andrei Elliott, Grace Phillips, Alison Klemencic, Elizabeth Bergee, Kelsey Ranjbar, Grace Morgan, Mallory Thompson, Thomas Ezell, and Josh Seybert, Sam Boatright, all of Southwest.

Benjamin Kincaid, Lawrence, is attending the University of Otago, in Dunedin, New Zealand. He is a part of the University of Southern California Spring Study Abroad Program. Kincaid is a biology major with an emphasis in human biology.

Bryan Witham, Lawrence, was named to the dean’s honor roll at Garden City Community College for the fall 2009 semester, by earning a grade-point average between 3.2 and 3.9.

The Jefferson County Genealogical Society Seminars will be from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. April 13 and from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. April 24. Two sections will be provided. A beginner’s session will include starting a family quest for ancestral ties. Computer sessions for the first 25 registrants will learn how to access their genealogy, trace family trees, and shown other informative areas. Registration is $5 each day and can be sent to, called into (913) 774-4967, or mailed to Winchester Public Library, P.O. 143, Winchester, KS 66097.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.