Radio hosts honored

Great Plains Media announces local radio hosts Kim Murphree, John Flood and Beth Breit are Kansas Medium Market Commercial Radio’s best newscast team for 2009. The three broadcast on The News and Talk of Lawrence, 1320 KLWN, and won first and third places for separate broadcasts in the 2009 Kansas Association of Broadcasters Awards.

Murphree and Flood host the KLWN Morning Newswatch, Flood hosts mid-morning news, and Breit hosts the KLWN Afternoon/Evening Newswatch. Murphree, Flood and Breit produce news segments for all the news broadcasts.

Talk show host Chris Merrill took top honors for his editorial “Savior of the Constitution” and third place for his editorial, “IOU Revolution.”

Hank Booth, Murphree, Merrill, Flood, Breit, Ian Rombough and Charles Newman won third place for severe weather coverage, and KLWN Sports Director Brian Hanni won second place for his morning sportscast.