Someone’s twisting the Tiger’s tail.
The owner of www.Mizzou.us is using the address to direct visitors away from their expected online lair — a home page affiliated with the University of Missouri — and lure them instead into the official, virtual world of the Kansas Jayhawks: KU.edu.
Word of the switch reached the Mizzou Alumni Association (www.Mizzou.com) Monday afternoon, drawing a few expressions of surprise, disappointment and, perhaps, maybe a little envy. Even MU’s official university site is www.Mizzou.edu.
“Wow,” said Jayson Meyer, director of alumni affairs. “Somebody’s pretty smart.”
Then his mind started to run: While “.com” and “.edu” are popular in the United States, the “.us” ending could be considered logical for folks residing elsewhere.
Ooh oh.
“Someone who might be searching internationally might be searching and find something else — something we wouldn’t want them to see,” Meyer said.
Meyer acknowledged that locating the Web domain’s owner likely would prove difficult, and that blocking the connection to Kansas University’s own site might prove even more so.
“I can’t think of anything quite like this,” Meyer said. “It’s certainly a fun rivalry that we have between the two schools. This is another example of someone having some more fun.”
While the Journal-World was unsuccessful in its attempts to contact the site’s owner — who listed an address of a mailbox at a UPS Store in Columbia, Mo. — at least one person with a Jayhawk Boulevard office ruled out the entire 66045 zip code.
“This is not the work of KU,” said Jill Jess, associate director of university relations. “Of course, we all know the greater Jayhawk Nation can, at times, be a bit overzealous.”



Comments
LJWorld.com doesn’t necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Read our full policy. Also, read about banned accounts and harassing comments.
zettapixel (anonymous) says…
ummm it wasn't that difficult to find out who the mizzou.us domain name was registered to... took all of 5 seconds.
Registrant:
L Jeffries
503 E. Nifong Blvd.
Suite 311
Columbia, MO 65201
United States
Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: mizzou.us
Created on: 19-Jan-05
Expires on: 19-Jan-11
Last Updated on: 19-Jan-09
Administrative Contact:
Jeffries, L admin@jeffries.us
503 E. Nifong Blvd.
Suite 311
Columbia, MO 65201
United States
+1.5739891111
Technical Contact:
TechContact, YahooDomains domain.tech@yahoo-inc.com
Yahoo! Inc
701 First Ave.
Sunnyvale, CA 94089
United States
+1.6198813096
Domain servers in listed order:
ns33.domaincontrol.com
ns34.domaincontrol.com
jkealing (Jonathan Kealing) says…
Zetta-
That person doesn't exist. We tried.
Jonathan Kealing
Online editor
Confrontation (anonymous) says…
Jonathan=1
Zettapixel=0
rgh (anonymous) says…
Took me about 20 seconds to find it also.
http://domains.whois.com/domain.php
I give the guy props for coming up with it though. It's funny as heck!
FormerCentralKansan (anonymous) says…
I bet Lew Perkins is behind this...he has his foot on Mizzou's throat and isn't about to let up ;)
compmd (anonymous) says…
Look I can use whois!
Did you folks ever stop to think that maybe not everything you read on the Internet is true? There is absolutely no regulation to verify the identifying information entered into DNS records. Heck, I'm still listed as the Technical Contact for a domain I don't even have access to from a company I haven't worked at in over a year. The email address listed is nonexistent. I can't do anything about it. I'm pretty sure that the LJW, who happens to have a sister company that is a rather successful ISP, knows what they are doing.
This person wanted to cover their tracks. However, they did everything on GoDaddy; DNS, hosting, name registration. GoDaddy's privacy is known to suck fiercely, so I'm sure one of you enterprising folks can social engineer your way through their tech support to glean some info about the owner of mizzou.us.
thebcman (anonymous) says…
does mangino.us redirect to burgerking.com?
bearded_gnome (anonymous) says…
does mangino.us redirect to burgerking.com?
--LMAO@!
no, Mangino.us redirects to:
www.turkeydrunsticks.us/can'tstop withjustone!.html
chic (anonymous) says…
Try Googling "503 E. Nifong Blvd"
One notable result:
http://www.owlsoft.com/
FarneyMac (Pádraig O'Connell) says…
Yeah, chic. You know what else is a notable result for "503 E. Nifong Blvd?"
The UPS Store. Just like the article says. And given the suite number, the address listed is a box there. Good work, Sherlock.
mdrndgtl (anonymous) says…
This was the same thing that happened to Sarah Palin's website. Google it.
TheOriginalCA (anonymous) says…
FormerCentralKansan (Anonymous) says…
I bet Lew Perkins is behind this…he has his foot on Mizzou's throat and isn't about to let up ;)
==============================
And Mangino is standing on Lew's foot at the same time :-)
kusp8 (anonymous) says…
This is great!
alm77 (anonymous) says…
I think I just blew it. In my overzealousness, I accidently brought it to the attention of one of MU's web developers. (Kind of surprised they didn't already know about it.) He promises it'll be gone by the end of the day. :(
alm77 (anonymous) says…
Ooo. ALSO, they're bragging that MU has more fans on facebook than KU does. You can become a fan of KU @ http://www.facebook.com/KU?ref=ts
jchristine2 (anonymous) says…
I love it!
drgath (anonymous) says…
@jkealing Did you also try contacting him at the jeffries.us registration info? It's a different phone number.
puddleglum (anonymous) says…
lets leave cavemen out of this one.
mizzou is junk-everybody knows this.
The city of columbia is doing a better job with their stoplights than lawrence is. and they have the shakespeare's pizza, which is far superior to anything here.
please don't bring up papa kenos-it will just expose your ignorance.
rudy's is decent.
logicsound09 (anonymous) says…
"He promises it'll be gone by the end of the day. :("
--------------
How, exactly, are they going to do that? If they don't own the domain, then they don't own the domain.
This guy can keep it directed to the KU website as long as he wants.
Boston_Corbett (anonymous) says…
Marion the spammer has evidently started recovery. He now admits he is Nick Danger. Now all he has to do is admit the rest of his "marketing" activities.........
alm77 (anonymous) says…
From the Columbia Tribune: http://www.columbiatribune.com/news/2...
Akreed (anonymous) says…
Some folks in here have some serious nerdrage issues. There is no need to dazzle us with your superior net sleuthing skillz.
GardenMomma (anonymous) says…
Try it now...
www.mizzou.us
Doesn't work anymore. : (
mistygreen (anonymous) says…
They're onto us now...LOL
milehighhawk (anonymous) says…
Might be effective....if people interested in traveling to Missouri actually knew how to use the Internet.
rgh (anonymous) says…
Marion,
So my cut and paste link didn't work. Go to the Whois site and put in the information yourself if you're so interested in bashing others being the internet guru you must be yourself. Glad you enjoyed it though.
The point was, that Marion obviously missed, is that you can indeed find out a domain quickly and funny that a creative Jayhawk fan created a fake Mizzou site that takes them to the KU.edu site. It happens more than you think, but doesn't get the publicity this one has created.