Archive for Tuesday, July 21, 2009

Department offering immunization for kids

July 21, 2009


The Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department is offering a special program that will provide the DTaP vaccine (diphtheria, tetanus and pertussis) to Douglas County children who were born between Sept. 1, 1997, and Aug. 31, 1998.

There is a $14 administrative fee, but no one is denied service because of inability to pay. The program ends July 31.

Getting DTaP at age 11 rather than 15 is new for students entering Kansas schools for the 2009-2010 school year.

Other changes for the 2009-2010 school year are:

• Kindergarten students must have two vaccines for varicella, commonly known as chickenpox, in addition to the following vaccines that previously have been required: DTaP, inactivated polio, MMR (measles, mumps and rubella) and hepatitis B.

• Students through grade nine must have three hepatitis B vaccines and one varicella vaccine unless a written note from their doctor states that the child has had varicella disease.

For more information, visit the department’s Web site at or call the clinic at 843-0721.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.