Archive for Friday, April 11, 2008

Awards aplenty at banquet

April 11, 2008


Kansas University's women's basketball team held its postseason awards reception and senior celebration Thursday night in the Kansas Union Ballroom.

Junior guard Katie Smith received the Ms. Jayhawk award, which is given to the player that embodies the spirit and vision of the Kansas women's basketball program. It marked the second straight year Smith has won the award.

Elizabeth Luther, of Ottawa, received the Jayhawk MOP (Most Outstanding Person) award, given to a member in the community who has made a tremendous impact on the program.

Other awards announced during the banquet included junior Ivana Catic earning the Lew Perkins Leadership Award, freshman Krysten Boogaard winning Most Improved, sophomore Danielle McCray earning the Best 50/50 Hustle Player Award, senior Taylor McIntosh winning the Best Defender Award, and sophomore Rebecca Feickert earning the Academic Pride Award for the second-consecutive season.

Jamie Boyd, Catic, Kelly Kohn and McIntosh were honored for being named to the All-Big 12 Academic First Team this season. It was also announced that Marija Zinic, Kohn, Catic, Boyd, McCray, Smith, Feickert and McIntosh were named to the Athletic Director's Honor Roll.

Boyd also received the Student Athlete Activities Council award for representing the team in on-campus student activities.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.