Archive for Thursday, March 29, 2007

KU sophomores earn science scholarship

March 29, 2007


Two Kansas University sophomores are among the 317 nationwide winners of the Barry M. Goldwater scholarship, considered the nation's top undergraduate award to encourage excellence in science, math and engineering.

The winners are Kyle Hesed, of Pawnee Rock, a biology major who plans to earn a doctorate in herpetology, and Stephanie Ann Hill, of Shawnee, a chemistry and biochemistry major who plans to earn a doctorate in medicinal chemistry.

"Kyle Hesed and Stephanie Hill are outstanding young scientists, and they are also outstanding young Kansans," KU Chancellor Robert Hemenway said in a prepared statement.

The award includes $7,500 for tuition, fees, books, room and board for up to two years.

In all, 43 KU students have won Goldwater scholarships since they were awarded in 1989.

Two KU juniors, Heather Marie Owen, of Leawood, and Laura A. Stiles, of Prairie Village, received honorable mentions.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.