Archive for Wednesday, January 24, 2007

Baldwin City faces primary election

Lack of filings seen for some city seats in Eudora, Lecompton

January 24, 2007


Baldwin City voters will have a primary election Feb. 27.

In both the Baldwin City Council and school board races, seven people filed. There are three openings on the City Council and four on the school board.

However, there will be only one race on the school board. Three incumbents will run unopposed, while four people filed for the at-large position No. 7.

In the City Council race, incumbents Tony Brown, Nancy Brown and Ted Brecheisen Jr. will face challengers Ken Wagner, Kenneth Neihoff, Jennifer Hayes and Jason Mock. Wagner is a former City Council member and Mock, a junior at Baker University, unsuccessfully ran for a City Council post two years ago.

For the school board, incumbents Alison Bauer, Blaine Cone and Scott Lauridsen will retain positions.

Lauridsen filed for the No. 2 position held by incumbent Lonnie Broers, who has decided not to seek re-election. Lauridsen had been elected to the at-large post.

The four candidates running for the at-large position are Teresa Arnold, Joshua Mihesuah, Dave Wagner and Doug Mead.


In Eudora, candidates were scarce - especially for the City Council - and no primary will be needed.

An April election for three open seats on the Eudora City Council appears to be over before it started. Only three applicants, including former mayor Fred Stewart and incumbent Jeff Peterson, filed in the race. Maria C.H. Nelson also filed to help fill the positions held by Scott Hopson, Dan Gregg and Peterson. Hopson and Gregg are not running for re-election.

Unless a fourth applicant attempts a write-in campaign, those three will be Eudora's next City Council members, said Keith Campbell, Douglas County's deputy of elections.

The situation isn't as simple for the Eudora school district.

All four incumbents on the school board filed for re-election as of Tuesday. Two newcomers, Belinda Rehmer and Mike Kelso, joined Mark Chrislip, Kenny Massey, Greg Neis and Joe Pyle on the ballot for the April 3 election.


In Lecompton, only three incumbents filed for the four open positions on the City Council. Mayor Roy Paslay is seeking re-election unopposed. Tim J. McNish and Mark Tunstall are running again. A write-in vote will have to determine who will fill the final open position.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.