Archive for Friday, April 13, 2007

Chamber to present leadership awards

April 13, 2007


The Lawrence Chamber of Commerce on Thursday announced recipients of its annual leadership and volunteer awards, to be presented during the chamber's Leadership Lawrence graduation ceremony April 27:

¢ Wally Galluzzi Chamber Volunteer of the Year Award: Jandi Smith, business account manager for Sunflower Broadband and chairwoman of the chamber's Young Professionals Network. Her volunteer efforts include working with United Way, Ballard Center, Junior Achievement, the Lawrence St. Patrick's Day Parade and 4-H.

¢ Buford M. Watson Jr. Award: Fred DeVictor, who recently retired as the city's director of parks and recreation; and Kay Kent, who recently retired as director of the Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department.

¢ Don Volker Leadership Award: Janet Murphy, executive director of the Boys & Girls Club.

The event, set for 7:30 a.m. in the ballroom at the Kansas Union, will include graduation for the 30 members of the 2007 class for Leadership Lawrence.

Cost is $25. For more information or to register, call 865-4411 or go to


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.