Archive for Wednesday, January 4, 2006

Four teachers honored by state

January 4, 2006


Four first-year teachers in the area won recognition recently from the state as 2006 Horizon Award recipients.

The Kansas State Department of Education will recognize 30 educators at a luncheon in February, including Meghann Maddux, of Southwest Junior High; Kyle Sonnedecker, of Sunflower School; April Kohrs, of Baldwin Elementary School; and Cory Wurtz, of De Soto's Mill Valley High School.

Teachers must have successfully completed their first year of teaching, and each district may nominate an elementary and a secondary teacher who it believes performed with excellence.

The Horizon Award program is a regional competition with four regions corresponding to the state's congressional districts.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.