Archive for Wednesday, April 5, 2006

Outstanding women are honored

April 5, 2006


Kansas University presented awards to strong women young and old Tuesday at the annual KU Women's Recognition Program.

Spencer Museum of Art director Saralyn Reece Hardy, the event's keynote speaker, told the recipients that their accomplishments were just another chapter in a personal story only they could tell.

"I hope to acknowledge the women who empower and shape their own stories," Hardy said.

The women receiving awards Tuesday shaped their own stories in a number of ways. Winners were lauded for achievements in arts, sciences, scholarship and politics.

The awards were presented and sponsored by members of the KU Commission on the Status of Women. The Emily Taylor Women's Resource Center also sponsored the awards.

Kansas City, Mo., Mayor Kay Barnes was one of three women inducted into the KU Women's Hall of Fame at the ceremony. She received a bachelor's degree from KU.

But Barnes couldn't attend the awards ceremony after being present for the dinner earlier.

Annette Shoemaker Rieger, who donated funds for a scholarship hall to KU, and Kathy Suprenant, chair of the department of molecular biosciences, also were inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Many others won awards as well. KU women's basketball captain Crystal Kemp won the award for Outstanding Women Student Athlete, while Lacy Gilmore won for Outstanding Woman Student.

Emily Bannwarth, Susana Mariscal, Jomana Qaddour, Hannah Swift and Amanda Tyrrell also won student achievement awards.

Faculty also won awards at the ceremony Tuesday. Linda Stone-Ferrier, Diana Rhodes and Hodgie Bricke took home awards for outstanding staff and educational work.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.