Archive for Tuesday, September 13, 2005

KU names recipients of Higuchi awards

Each of four winners will receive $10,000 to further research efforts

September 13, 2005


Kansas University has named four recipients of the 2005 Higuchi/Endowment Association Research Achievement Awards. Each will receive $10,000 to further research efforts.

The awards were announced Thursday at the annual Faculty-Staff Convocation in Budig Hall. KU Chancellor Robert Hemenway will present the awards in October.

The winners:

¢ Dale Abrahamson, professor and chairman of KU's Anatomy and Cell Biology Department at the University of Kansas Medical Center. He will receive the Dolph Simons Research Award in the field of biomedical sciences.

¢ Thomas Cravens, professor of physics and astronomy at KU, will receive the Olin K. Petefish Research Award in the field of basic sciences.

¢ H. George Frederickson, Edwin O. Stene Distinguished Professor of Public Administration at KU, will receive the Irvin Youngberg Research Award in the field of applied sciences.

¢ E. Wayne Nafziger, University Distinguished Professor of Economics at Kansas State University, will receive the Balfour Jeffery Research Award in the field of humanities and social sciences.

The Higuchi Awards were established in 1981 by Takeru Higuchi, a KU distinguished professor of chemistry and pharmacy and chairman of pharmaceutical chemistry, and his wife, Aya. Higuchi stipulated that faculty members at all Kansas regents institutions be eligible.

The annual awards are named for former officers of the KU Endowment Association who were instrumental in bringing Higuchi to KU and who worked to further KU's overall research program.

Recipients may use their awards for research materials, summer salaries, fellowship matching funds, research assistance or other research-related support.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.