Archive for Monday, October 31, 2005

Area students get KU scholarships

October 31, 2005


Three Douglas County students have received Kansas University's Summerfield and Watkins-Berger scholarships for fall 2005.

Christine Annette Allen and Marie Claire Hull, both of Lawrence, received Watkins-Berger scholarships. Patrick Karasek of Lawrence received a Summerfield scholarship.

About 100 students received the scholarships, which provide each student with $4,500 a year for four years and are administered by the KU Endowment Association.

Recipients are selected by the Chancellor's Honor Scholarship Committee, which looks at students' academic achievement, community service and leadership.

To be considered, students must have a 3.5 cumulative high school grade-point average and an ACT score of 31 or higher.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.