Archive for Tuesday, August 3, 2004

Contested positions numerous in region

August 3, 2004


County commission and sheriff races are attracting attention in regional primary elections today.

Six candidates are vying for positions on the Franklin County Commission, while in Jefferson County four Republicans are seeking two commission seats.

Jefferson County

In Jefferson County's 3rd Commission District, Donna J. Bates is running for a county office for the first time at age 67. She said it didn't take her long to find out what her district's main concerns were.

"The biggest complaint was the roads and how we spend their money," said Bates, a Republican from Oskaloosa.

Bates and Republican LaVerne W. Clark, Valley Falls, are trying to win the right to challenge incumbent 3rd District democrat Francis A. Grollmes, Valley Falls. He has no primary opponent.

In Jefferson County's Second District, Republican incumbent Travis J. Oliver is being challenged in the primary by David Christy, of Meriden. Democratic candidate Kevin D. Kuenzi, Perry, will face the winner in November.

The only other primary race for Jefferson County government is that of treasurer. Incumbent Republican Mary F. Underwood, Winchester, is challenged by Tim Hood, Oskaloosa.

Jefferson County Atty. Jim Vanderbilt, a Democrat from Oskaloosa, is not seeking re-election. Oskaloosa attorney Michael C. Hayes is running unopposed as a Republican for the office and there are no Democratic candidates.

Republican Sheriff Roy G. Dunnaway, of Perry, has no primary or general election competition, nor does Republican Register of Deeds Delia A. Heston, of Oskaloosa.

Franklin County

In Franklin County, county commission positions are also popular. Here is a listing of the candidates:

2nd District

Republicans: James L. Bunch and John E. Taylor.

Democrat: John C. Riddle.

3rd District

Republicans: James Leland Barnhart, Ray DeJulio and Roy Dunn.

Democrats: Jesse L. Maddox and Douglas W. Morgan.

Incumbent Republican County Atty. John Dowell faces opposition from Heather R. Jones, an assistant in the office. There are no Democratic candidates.

Incumbent Republican Sheriff Craig A. Davis is challenged by Rick Croucher. There are no Democratic candidates.

Other county offices:


Republicans: Deborah Cannaday and Shari Perry.

Democrat: Donna Mietchen Ferguson.

Leavenworth County

In Leavenworth County six Republicans are running for the 3rd District Commission position being vacated by Joe Daniels Jr., who isn't seeking re-election. The winner will run against the lone Democrat, Jerry Wilburn.

The Republican candidates are: Dick Brauer, Linwood; Fauna Dean, Basehor; Jon Gallion, Basehor; Dean Oroke, Tonganoxie; Ken Rahjes, Tonganoxie; and Marvin Torneden, Linwood.

Leavenworth County Sheriff Herb Nye isn't running for re-election. His undersheriff, Dave Zoellner, and former Leavenworth Police Officer Gene "Geno" Tomrell are both running as Democrats. There is no Republican candidate.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.