Results, state qualifiers from regional track and field

Lawrence High senior Paige Platt won regional championships in both the high jump (5 feet, 2 inches) and the javelin (133 feet, 9 inches) to headline LHS’ group of state qualifiers from Thursday’s 6A regional action in Olathe.

Senior Rai’Onna Helm set a new personal record by completing the 100-meter dash in second place in 12.33 seconds.

Helm was also part of an LHS 4×100-meter relay team that scraped out a first-place victory by the narrowest of margins: the Chesty Lions edged out Olathe West by one hundredth of a second. That team included Helm along with Yamirra Woods, LaKeyshia Woods and Sienna Wesley.

Wesley also placed fourth in the long jump at 16-06.25 to earn her spot at state in that event, as did Josephine Platt in the triple jump at 34-03.50.

LHS finished fourth of nine teams in girls track and field and eighth of nine teams in boys track and field.

4A action unfolds in Eudora

The Eudora girls track and field team won an overall regional championship at its home track Thursday, more than doubling the score of runner-up Baldwin to reach a final tally of 160 points.

Tonganoxie finished fifth on the girls side; in boys track and field the three area schools finished second (Eudora), third (Tonganoxie) and sixth (Baldwin), all behind regional champion Bishop Miege.

Here’s the full list of top-four finishers (the threshold for state qualification) from 4A area schools:

Baldwin: Nick Johnson (800-meter run, first place, 1:57.52); David Wilson (110-meter hurdles, fourth place, 17.20); Ethan Smasal, Kasey Hamrick, Camden Cox, Johnson (4×800-meter relay, first place, 8:48.35); Colton Collum (high jump, fourth place, 6-00); Brenden O’Connor (discus, first place, 157-05; shot put, first place, 51-09.50); Fisayo Afonja (400-meter dash, third place, 1:02.61); Kami Moore (800-meter run, first place, 2:18.76); Irelyn Kennedy (1,600-meter run, third place, 5:37.22; 3,200-meter run, second place, 12:01.60); Linnea Hagman (300-meter hurdles, second place, 50.28); Shea Griffith, Reagan Bosch, Emme Nigh, Cheyenne Brunker (4×100-meter relay, fourth place, 51.75); Griffith, Nigh, Brunker, Moore (4×400-meter relay, first place, 4:08.85); Griffith, Lily Brecheisen, Moore, Kennedy (4×800-meter relay, first place, 10:12.87); Peyton Wright (long jump, third place, 16-10); Harper Schoendaller (javelin, third place, 127-00).

Eudora: Cameren Tice (200-meter dash, fourth place, 22.87); Adrion Seals (400-meter dash, first place, 51.98); Zachary Arnold (1,600-meter run, third place, 4:31.24; 3,200-meter run, first place, 10:06.48); Tice, Matthew Magette, Derek Lehmann, Seals (4×100-meter relay, second place, 42.90); Tice, Micaiah Jerome, Nate Steinlage, Seals (4×400-meter relay, second place, 3:25.92; Magette (high jump, second place, 6-04); George Hagan (triple jump, second place, 42-00.50); Cole Baumgartner (pole vault, third place, 12-07.00); Colton Bowser (pole vault, fourth place, 12-01.00); Kole Manley (javelin, first place, 186-06); Steinlage (javelin, second place, 183-10); Christian Koehn (javelin, fourth place, 159-01); Braylen Hoobler (shot put, second place, 48-07.50); Madison Karten (100-meter dash, third place, 12.84; 200-meter dash, second place, 26.97); Adalyn Hemphill (100-meter dash, fourth place, 12.92; long jump, second place, 17-05.50; triple jump, second place, 35-07); Sophie Whalen (400-meter dash, first place, 1:01.43); Hanna Keltner (800-meter run, second place, 2:19.39; 1,600-meter run, second place, 5:33.96; 3,200-meter run, first place, 11:54.30); Sydney Owens (1,600-meter run, fourth place, 5:47.10; 3,200-meter run, third place, 12:17.89); Brynn Deterding (100-meter hurdles, first place, 15.75; 300-meter hurdles, first place, 48.92); Izzy Brunkow, Hemphill, Avery Warren, Karten (4×100-meter relay, second place, 51.04); Karten, Brunkow, Deterding, Whalen (4×400-meter relay, third place, 4:12.66); Whalen, Warren, Keltner, Owens (4×800-meter relay, third place, 10:25.68); Brunkow (second place, pole vault, 10-07); Avery Hemphill (fourth place, pole vault, 9-01); Lucy Giffin (third place, discus, 107-02); Brennan Moeckel (fourth place, discus, 105-09; third place, shot put, 37-09.25).

Tonganoxie: Todd Brown (100-meter dash, second place, 11.10; 200-meter dash, third place, 22.80); Solomon Carter (800-meter run, second place, 2:01.26; 1,600-meter run, first place, 4:30.39); Michael Bottary (800-meter run, third place, 2:02.28); Gavin Shupe (800-meter run, fourth place, 2:02.54); Parker Welsh (1,600-meter run, second place, 4:30.87); Isaiah Holthaus (110-meter hurdles, first place, 15.68; 300-meter hurdles, second place, 40.86); Elijah Holthaus (300-meter hurdles, third place, 42.23); Alex Stevens, Kendall Smith, Tanner Hand, Brown (4×100-meter relay, third place, 43.07); Kendall Smith, Jett Gilmore, Welsh, Carter (4×400-meter relay, fourth place, 3:28.73); Bottary, Shupe, Welsh, Carter (4×800-meter relay, second place, 8:59.36); Tucker McGuire (discus, third place, 143-06); Kara Johnson (3,200-meter run, fourth place, 12:25.33); Sydney Kirchoff (300-meter hurdles, third place, 50.70); Reece Schmidt (high jump, first place, 5-02); Kasia Baldock (high jump, second place, 5-00); Adalyn Schooler (high jump, second place, 5-00; discus, second place, 113-00); Mikinzi Smoots (triple jump, third place, 34-00; pole vault, third place, 9-07); Lucy Rieke (shot put, fourth place, 37-02.25)

More state qualifiers

Perry-Lecompton (3A in Saint Marys): Tyler Reed (110-meter hurdles, second place, 15.89; 300-meter hurdles, fourth place, 42.42); Trevor Conklin (discus, third place, 135-01); Koltyn Kaniper (javelin, second place, 168-09); Macie Corcoran (100-meter hurdles, fourth place, 16.53; 300-meter hurdles, fourth place, 48.02); Taylor Damme (javelin, third place, 123-11).

Free State (6A at Wichita Northwest) and Seabury (1A at Iola) were in regional competition Friday.


Welcome to the new Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.