KU guard Holly Kersgieter named preseason all-Big 12

photo by: Stephen Spillman — Courtesy Big 12/University of Texas

Kansas' Holly Kersgieter looks to drive versus Texas on, Thursday, Jan., 14, 2021, in Austin, Texas. (Stephen Spillman)

Kansas junior Holly Kersgieter was one of 12 players named to preseason all-Big 12 women’s basketball team, the Big 12 announced Wednesday.

It marks the second season in a row that Kersgieter has earned preseason accolades from the Big 12 coaches, who vote for the all-Big 12 preseason team. Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own players.

According to the Big 12, Kersgieter tied with two other players for 10th place in the preseason voting, which necessitated having a preseason squad with 12 players rather than the usual 10.

The guard from Sand Springs, Okla., led KU in scoring last season, at 17 points per game, and also finished second in rebounds per game (6.7) and total steals (40).

Kersgieter started all 24 of the games she played in and was often one of the bright spots on a team that finished the 2020-21 season with a 7-18 overall record, including a mark of 3-15 in Big 12 play.

She made at least one 3-pointer in each game of the 2020-21 season and led Kansas with 40 made triples for the season while shooting 32.8% from behind the arc.

The Kansas women will open the 2021-22 season with four consecutive home games, beginning on Nov. 10 against SIU-Edwardsville.

Preseason Player of the Year

NaLyssa Smith, Baylor, F, 6-2, Sr., Converse, Texas

Preseason Newcomer of the Year

Jordan Lewis, Baylor, G, 5-7, Gr., Windermere, Fla.

Preseason Freshman of the Year

Aaliyah Moore, Texas, F, 6-1, Fr., Moore, Okla.

Preseason All-Big 12 Team

*NaLyssa Smith, Baylor, F, 6-2, Sr., Converse, Texas

*Ashley Joens, Iowa State, G/F, 6-0 Sr., Iowa City, Iowa

*Ayoka Lee, K-State, C, 6-6, Jr., Byron, Minn.

*Madi Williams, Oklahoma, G/F, 5-11, Sr., Fort Worth, Texas

*Lauren Heard, TCU, G, 5-9, Gr., Denton, Texas

*Vivian Gray, Texas Tech, G, 6-1, Sr., Argyle, Texas

*Esmery Martinez, West Virginia, F, 6-2, Jr., Hato Mayor Del Rey, Dominican Republic

Queen Egbo, Baylor, C, 6-3, Sr., Houston, Texas

Joanne Allen Taylor, Texas, G, 5-8, Jr., Houston, Texas

Lexi Donarski, Iowa State, G, 6-0, So., LaCrosse, Wis.

Holly Kersgieter, Kansas, G, 5-10, Jr., Sand Springs, Okla.

Taylor Robertson, Oklahoma, G, 5-11, Sr., McPherson, Kan.

*Denotes unanimous selection

Honorable Mention (listed alphabetically by school): Ja’Mee Asberry (Baylor), Jordan Lewis (Baylor), Emily Ryan (Iowa State), Taylen Collins (Oklahoma State), Rori Harmon (Texas), KK Deans (West Virginia), Kari Niblack (West Virginia)


Welcome to the new LJWorld.com. Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.