Dozens of college basketball coaches announce creation of John McLendon Minority Leadership Initiative

John McLendon NAIA victory celebration.

Kentucky’s John Calipari, University of Kansas coach Bill Self and more than 30 other college basketball coaches have announced the creation of a minority leadership initiative that carries the name of KU pioneer John McLendon.

In partnership with the John McLendon Foundation, the new initiative is designed to increase the amount of diversity in both college basketball and college athletic departments throughout the country.

“What can we do to make a difference?” Calipari recalled of the initial discussion that grew into the initiative, which he announced Monday on an ESPN morning show. “In athletics, it’s add diversity to athletic departments.”

Self, now in his 18th season at Kansas, is one of the coaches backing the project and he tweeted Monday afternoon that he was “all in.”

“Proud to help launch the McLendon Foundation Minority Leadership Initiative and help provide access and opportunity to deserving minority candidates,” Self wrote.

According to the website created for the initiative — — the mission of the McLendon Minority Leadership Initiative is “to provide minorities a jump-start to their careers through practical experiences, opportunities to build their network, and instilling the values of John McLendon: Integrity, Education, Leadership, and Mentorship.”

Although McLendon was not allowed to compete collegiately during his time at KU, the Hiawatha native who died in 1999 at age 84 was KU’s first Black physical education graduate and is credited with integrating KU’s pool and student government, according to biographer Milton S. Katz.

In addition, his relationship with basketball’s founder, James Naismith, helped open doors to the coaching world and led to McLendon becoming the head coach at six different stops, including a one-year stint with the American Basketball Association’s Denver Rockets in 1969.

“John McLendon was a pioneer in our profession,” Calipari said in a YouTube video promoting the mission of the McLendon Minority Leadership Initiative.

While McLendon was at KU, Naismith served as his teacher, advisor and mentor. Words from McLendon about his relationship with Naismith are etched on the walls inside KU’s DeBruce Center, where Naismith’s original rules of basketball are housed.

“Dr. Naismith taught me far more than was found in textbooks,” McLendon said. “There’s no question that my life would not have been anywhere near what it has become if I had not had Dr. Naismith as my adviser.”

McLendon was the first person inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame as both a contributor, in 1979, and as a coach, in 2016.

According to the website, the new initiative will be a collaborative effort between athletic directors, coaches and minority applicants.

Candidates, who can apply through the website beginning Aug. 1, will be analyzed and vetted by members of the McLendon Leadership Initiative and names then will be passed along to athletic department officials, who will review the list for potential hires.

Calipari called it a “coach-driven” initiative. Harvard coach Tommy Amaker, who was involved in initial discussions about the idea, said he was attracted to the project because of his belief that coaches should always be viewed as teachers and leaders first.

“The name John McLendon is synonymous with education, educator, teacher, coach, excellence, service and leader,” Amaker said during the ESPN announcement. “It would be incredibly meaningful to me to have the opportunity to honor this man and to support this mission.”

Other college basketball coaches supporting the project who are listed on the website include: Duke’s Mike Krzyzewski, Georgetown’s Patrick Ewing, Gonzaga’s Mark Few, Oregon’s Dana Altman, Dayton’s Anthony Grant, Tennessee’s Rick Barnes, Michigan State’s Tom Izzo, Pitt’s Jeff Capel, Arizona’s Sean Miller, Michigan’s Juwan Howard, South Carolina’s Frank Martin, Missouri’s Cuonzo Martin, West Virginia’s Bob Huggins, Stanford’s Jerod Haase, Washington’s Mike Hopkins, Oklahoma State’s Mike Boynton, Maryland’s Mark Turgeon, UConn’s Geno Auriemma, Virginia’s Tony Bennett, Colorado’s Tad Boyle, USC’s Andy Enfield, Arizona State’s Bobby Hurley, Georgia Tech’s Josh Pastner, Tulsa’s Frank Haith and UCLA’s Mick Cronin, among several others.


Welcome to the new Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.