2024 Journal-World All-Area Track and Field Team

photo by: Journal-World Sports Staff

The Journal-World All-Area Teams.

Coach of the Year: MaryJo Swann, Eudora

Eudora’s track and field team had a dominant showing at the 4A state meet, taking first among girls and seventh among boys. Combined, the teams scored 105 points, which led all area teams over the course of the state meet.

Vivian Hill

Player of the Year: Vivian Hill, Bishop Seabury

Hill finished her career with four Bishop Seabury school records in the shot put, discus throw, javelin throw and the coed-throwers 4×100-meter relay. She placed seventh in the 4×100-meter relay, eleventh in the shot put and twelfth in the javelin at regionals. The senior earned All-Kaw Valley Conference honors in the shot put, discus, javelin and the 4×100-meter relay.

photo by: Contributed

Taylor Damme

Taylor Damme, Perry-Lecompton

Damme finished second in the javelin throw at the 3A state championship, after winning the event at several meets earlier in the season, including the Big 7 League Meet.

Austin Drewry

Austin Drewry, Veritas Christian

Drewry set a school record in the 800-meter run and led the boys team in points this year. The junior was also a part of a record-breaking 4×100-meter relay team.

Adalyn Hemphill

Adalyn Hemphill, Eudora

Hemphill was a long-jump state champion in the 4A state meet while also taking fourth in the triple jump and setting school records along the way in both jumping events. She played a key role in the school’s state title.

Hanna Keltner

Hanna Keltner, Eudora

Keltner was the 1600-meter state champion in 4A and was the runner-up in the 3200-meter race. Keltner took third in the 800-meter run and set a school record in the race. The junior also was the third leg of the runner-up 4×800-meter relay team.

Jake Loos

Jake Loos, Free State

Loos finished his career placing second in the 800-meter run at state and fifth in the 1600-meter run, while winning the former race at regionals and placing second in the latter. Loos set a school record this season in the 800-meter run.

Jane Ma

Jane Ma, Bishop Seabury

Ma, a freshman, holds the triple jump Bishop Seabury school record and placed seventh in the 4×100-meter relay at regionals. She picked up All-Kaw Valley Conference honors in the 4×100-meter relay, 100-meter dash, 400-meter dash and the triple jump.

Kole Manley

Kole Manley, Eudora

Manley won the javelin throw in the 4A state meet while holding the school’s record in the event and being ranked 19th in the country.

Kami Moore

Kami Moore, Baldwin

Moore competed in the 800-meter run, the 4×400-meter relay and 4×800-meter relay. The freshman placed second in the state in the 4A state meet at the 800-meter run after winning the regional. On the relay teams, she was part of the state championship 4×800-meter group and the fourth-place 4×400-meter group.

Brenden O’Connor

Brenden O’Connor, Baldwin

O’Connor competed in the throws and took second at the state meet in the discus throw while taking the top spot in the league and the region. In shot put, he again led the league and region while taking third in the state meet.

Chae Park

Chae Park, Veritas Christian

Park was the points leader and team MVP for the fourth year in a row, according to head coach Travis Haas, and won the triple jump at the State Championships.

Paige Platt

Paige Platt, Lawrence

Platt broke the school’s high jump record at 5 feet, 8 inches. She placed third at the 6A state meet in the high jump and sixth in the javelin. She was a Sunflower League champion and regional champion in high jump and the javelin throw.

Honorable Mention: Todd Brown (Tonganoxie); Jameson Carter (Free State); Macie Corcoran (Perry-Lecompton); Owen Diederich (Bishop Seabury); Nyah Everhart (Veritas Christian); RaiOnna Helm (Lawrence); Nick Johnson (Baldwin); Koltyn Kaniper (Perry-Lecompton); Irelyn Kennedy (Baldwin); Andrew Lang (Bishop Seabury); Ruby Newell (Bishop Seabury); Tyler Reed (Perry-Lecompton); Sadie Reynolds (Free State); Lucy Rieke (Tonganoxie); Harper Schoendaller (Baldwin); Adalyn Schooler (Tonganoxie); Drake Spurlock (Bishop Seabury); Sienna Wesley (Lawrence).


Welcome to the new LJWorld.com. Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.