2022-23 Journal-World All-Area Teams: Girls Basketball

Lawrence High coach Jeff Dickson prior to the 6A State Basketball Tournament on Thursday, March 9, 2023 at Koch Arena. Lawrence High ends their season with a 58-49 loss to Washburn Rural.

The following selections were made by the Journal-World sports staff.

• Coach of the Year: Jeff Dickson, Lawrence High School

Dickson, closing in on a decade at LHS, led four seniors and the rest of the Lady Lions to the Class 6A state tournament for the first time since 2017. Following a losing 2021-22 campaign, Dickson’s group finished second in the Class 6A West region with seven consecutive wins leading up to a first-round exit at state.

• Player of the Year: Brynnae Johnson, Lawrence High School

Brynnae Johnson

Johnson, wrapping up just her second year at LHS, earned the role of starting point guard and led the Lady Lions with 12.6 points per game. Described Dickson, as a “stereotypical basketball junkie,” Johnson picked up First Team All-Sunflower League honors.

• Sawyer Schreiner, Eudora High School

Sawyer Schreiner

Schreiner, rounding our her final year at Eudora, averaged 8.0 points, 9.0 rebounds and 2.0 assists per game with the Cardinals. The upperclassman picked up Second Team All-Frontier League honors and played every position available during her four years.

• Karly Neufeld, Baldwin High School

Karly Neufeld

Neufeld, wrapping up her senior year, averaged 14.3 points, three rebounds, two assists and 2.5 steals per game. Neufeld was a four-year letter winner and leading scorer for the Bulldogs, leading the team from the three-point line and charity stripe.

• Amaya Marshall, Lawrence High School

Amaya Marshall

Marshall, ending her career at LHS, was a four-year starter with the Lady Lions averaging 10.0 points per game and received Second Team All-Sunflower League honors.

• Lucy Hardy, Lawrence High School

Lucy Hardy

Hardy, another key senior on the LHS roster, finished her high school career averaging just under 10.0 points per game and served as the Lady Lions primary defender, according to Dickson. Hardy scooped up Third Team All-Sunflower League honors this postseason.

• Addie Fulscher, Free State High School

Free State freshman Addie Fulscher drives the ball against Wichita Northwest on Friday, January 27, 2023.

Fulscher, tasked with starting as a freshman, picked up arguably more time on the floor than anyone else in the Sunflower League, according to Free State coach Summer Frantz. The Lady Firebirds’ primary scorer and true ball-handler, Fulscher will return much-needed depth to the Free State roster next season.

• Brooke Metcalfe, Perry-Lecompton High School

Brooke Metcalfe PLHS

Metcalfe ended her PLHS career averaging 7.2 points and 6.3 rebounds per game. Metcalfe, who’s committed to playing basketball at Kansas Wesleyan, picked up All-Big 7 League honorable mention honors this postseason.

• Makenzie Yoder, Eudora High School

Kenzie Yoder

Yoder, closing out her junior year, averaged 10.0 points and 8.0 rebounds per game with the Cardinals. A second-year starter, Yoder built a reputation as a high-energy player who will be a key returner for EHS coach Brandon Parker.

• Alyssa Reichard, Baldwin High School

Alyssa Reichard

Reichard, gearing up for a big senior season, averaged 10.0 points, 6.5 rebounds and 2.0 assists per game with the Bulldogs. Reichard led the team in rebounds and steals this season, picking up her third letter.

• Alyssa Schoeneck, Tonganoxie High School

Alyssa Schoeneck

Schoeneck, capping off her first year at Tonganoxie, led the Chieftains with 6.7 points, 6.0 rebounds, 2.7 assists, and 3.1 steals per game.

• Lily Monarez, Veritas Christian School

Lily Monarez

Monarez, closing out her junior year, led the Eagles with 9.6 points, 6.3 rebounds, and 1.8 steals per game. Monarez has now led Veritas’ scoring column for two consecutive seasons.

Honorable Mention: Taylor Damme (Perry Lecompton), Serenity Keo (Lawrence), Daphne Bracker Sturm (Lawrence), Destiny Savannah (Lawrence), Cyrenity Hardy (Lawrence), Ryleigh Morgan (Perry Lecompton), Mackenzie Yoder (Eudora), Zoe Chambers (Veritas), Rachael Gaspers (Veritas)


Welcome to the new LJWorld.com. Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.