2022-23 Journal-World All-Area Teams: Boys Wrestling

The following selections were made by the Journal-World sports staff.

Coach of the Year: Brett Delich, Tonganoxie High School

Delich led 10 total grapplers to the Class 4A state championship, including a state champion in junior Braeden Moore (132 pounds) and state runner-up in freshman Brady Martin (144 pounds). Taking the helm of the Chieftains’ wrestling program four years ago, Delich led THS to its first-ever state wrestling championship last season.

Wrestler of the Year: Matthew Marcum, Free State High School

Matthew Marcum

Marcum, finishing his senior season undefeated with an impressive record of 54-0, flew right back to the Class 6A state wrestling championship in Wichita. Marcum defeated Olathe Northwest’s Lucas Conover in the first-place match of the 215-pound bracket to earn his second career state title with the Firebirds. Not stopping there, Marcum went on to capture the 220-pound national title at the NHSCA Tournament in Virginia Beach, Virginia.

Nolan Bradley, Free State High School

Nolan Bradley

Bradley navigated his way back to the Class 6A state championship one final time after taking home his first career state title during his junior season. Falling just short of the 113-pound championship, Bradley won the third-place championship over Olathe North’s Blake Samuelson.

Eric Streeter, Free State High School

Eric Streeter

Sustaining a high-ankle sprain midway through his senior season, Streeter wasn’t sure whether he’d get his shot at the Class 6A state tournament. Rejoining his teammates on the mat late in the schedule, Streeter fought his way into the 144-pound state championship and defeated Derby’s Troy Allen for his first state title.

Lou Elsten, Lawrence High School

photo by: Conner Becker/Journal-World photo

Lawrence High senior Jack Elsten, center, and his brother Lou, left, are pictured with LHS coach Pat Naughton. Both the Lions and Free State Firebirds are gearing up for this weekend’s regional meet at Washburn Rural.

Elsten, earning LHS First Team All-Academic honors, capped off a strong freshman campaign with a fourth-place finish in the 106-pound bracket Class 6A state tournament. Elsten also placed fourth at the regional and Sunflower League tournaments.

Andrew Honas, Lawrence High School

Andrew Honas

Honas defeated Free State’s Grayson Hagen in the 126-pound third-place semifinal at the Class 6A state tournament, finishing fourth in the bracket after falling to Manhattan’s Logan Lagerman in the third-place championship. Honas, a junior, is a three-time state tournament placer and will return to LHS for his senior season with a 85-28 career record.

Braeden Moore, Tonganoxie High School

Braeden Moore

Moore, finishing the season at 36-1, defeated Independence’s Kohen Wright at the Class 4A state championship to claim the 132-pound title. Moore previously fell in the second round of the last year’s state tournament, fighting his way back with a remarkable junior campaign.

• Hawken Andrews, Eudora High

Hawken Andrews

The EHS freshman who qualified for state in his first year with the program won 26 matches and finished with a 26-12 record while wrestling at 120 pounds.

Jack Harvey, Baldwin High School

Jack Harvey

Harvey, finishing his junior campaign at 44-1, set a new school record with 34 falls. Furthermore, Harvey grabbed the Class 4A state championship at 190 pounds and holds the No. 12 spot on the Bulldogs’ all-time career list.

Brady Martin, Tonganoxie High School

Brady Martin

Martin, finishing his freshman campaign at 38-8, took home Class 4A state runner-up honors after falling to two-time state champion Andale’s Owen Eck in the 144-pound championship.

Noah Bailey, Tonganoxie High School

Noah Bailey

Bailey, finishing his junior season at 38-6, finished third at the Class 6A state championship with a win over Wamego’s Thomas McIntyre in the 150-pound bracket.

Christian Conklin, Perry-Lecompton High School

Christian Conklin (top)

Conklin, finishing his senior year at 29-9, ended his wrestling career as a four-time letter winner and team captain for the Kaws. Conklin qualified for the Class 3A state tournament in his junior season.

Honorable Mention: Grayson Hagen (Free State), Drew Streeter (Free State), Jesse Hopper (Baldwin), Jaiden Michael (Baldwin), Jayden Westgate (Baldwin), Aiyden Johnson (Baldwin), Ethan Williams (Baldwin), Dylan Williams (Baldwin), Conner Murry (Baldwin), Jack Elsten (Lawrence), Trevon Swearinger (Lawrence), Tucker Corbin (Lawrence), Colton Brusven (Tonganoxie), Hunter Benedict (Tonganoxie), Braedon Speer (Eudora).


Welcome to the new LJWorld.com. Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.