Two city bowlers make All-Sunflower League second team

Free State senior Porter Neidow rolls a ball down the lane during a meet Friday at Royal Crest Lanes on Jan. 10, 2020.

A pair of city bowlers made the All-Sunflower League second team to highlight the postseason accolades for bowling this year.

Free State senior Porter Neidow made the second team in the boys division, while Lawrence High senior Emilie Rodman received a second-team selection on the girls side. No other city player was named to the first or second team.

For the season, Neidow averaged a score of 200 and rolled a series high score of 652. Neidow had one first-place finish and a pair of runner-up finishes as an individual. Rodman recorded a series high score of 626, finishing with a game average of 185 this year. Rodman also won seven meets as an individual in her final campaign.

To end the year, Rodman ended up placing 54th at the state bowling meet. Neidow went with his entire team, where the Firebirds finished sixth as a squad. FSHS was actually 24 pins away from finishing second in the team standings.

In the boys division, Lawrence High and Free State had a combined six bowlers make the honorable mention group. Maison Albarado, Wheeler Battaglia-Davis, Brady Edmonds and Josh King did so for LHS. Ryan Neff and Warren Williams netted honorable-mention selections for FSHS.

On the girls side, Lawrence’s Lana Chieu and Free State’s Ashley Edwinson were recognized on the honorable mention team.

Olathe Northwest’s Spencer Giffin was named the boys bowler of the year, while Nichole Thomas of Shawnee Mission South was picked as the girls bowler of the year. Olathe East’s Chuck Thibodeau (boys) and Jim Anderson (girls) were tabbed coach of the year in their respective division.

All-Sunflower League bowling 2020


Bowler of the year: Spencer Giffin, ONW

Coach of the year: Chuck Thibodeau, OE

First team: Michael Anderson, OW: Charlie Cannon, OE; Andrew Fonseca, SMW; Spencer Giffin, ONW; Tristan Lundberg, OE; Logan Rhodes, OE.

Second team: Brady Beverman, OS; Christian Kotwitz, ONW; Porter Neidow, FS; Zach Rawlings, ONW; Dakota Stephens, SMNW; Tony Thomas, SMS.


Bowler of the year: Nichole Thomas, SM South

Coach of the year: Jim Anderson, Olathe North

First team: Cheyanne Bolin, SMNW; Jordan Reynolds, ON; Nichole Thomas, SMS; Malia Toomay, OS; Skylar Valdez, ON; Alyssa Williams, SMN.

Second team: Grace Bradley, SMNW; Karla Coker, ONW; Kellie Kritzler, OE: Victoria Leal, SME; Angel Ortega, SMNW; Emilie Rodman, LHS.


Welcome to the new Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.