Kansas high school basketball tournament canceled after completing quarterfinal round

photo by: Shane Jackson

Free State senior DK Middleton looks to make a move past a Blue Valley Northwest defender during the opening round of the Class 6A state tournament on Thursday at Wichita State University on March 12, 2020.

WICHITA — There will be no state champion in high school basketball this season at any level.

Late Thursday night, during the final games of the opening round of the state tournament, KSHSAA canceled the state tourney at all six sites due to threat of coronavirus. No division — boys or girls — was able to play past the quarterfinal round of this year’s state tournament.

It marks the first time since 1930 that there will be no state basketball champion.

“Given the escalating concerns regarding COVID-19, the best decision for the safety of the student-athletes and spectators was to cancel the remainder of this championship tournament,” KSHSAA wrote in a release. “The KSHSAA regrets the lost opportunity for teams and players that have worked to achieve their goals.”

Only one area team had punched its ticket to the semifinals by the time KSHSAA made the decision to end the tournament. The Bishop Seabury boys, which had never finished higher than third in program history, defeated Valley Heights in the opening round of the Class 2A state tournament at Bramlage Coliseum.

Free State was eliminated by three-time champion Blue Valley Northwest in the Class 6A boys state tournament. Lawrence High was in the middle of its game with Blue Valley North at Koch Arena when the news was announced.

Both Eudora and Baldwin were eliminated in Class 4A girls on Wednesday.

Remaining teams before state basketball tournaments were canceled

Class 6A boys

No. 1 Campus (23-0)

No. 3 Blue Valley Northwest (21-2)

No. 4 Blue Valley North (20-3)

No. 7 Olathe South (17-6)

Class 6A girls

No. 1 Liberal (23-0)

No. 2 Topeka (23-0)

No. 4 Derby (21-2)

No. 6 Olathe East (18-5)

Class 5A boys

No. 1 Andover (23-0)

No. 2 Basehor-Linwood (21-2)

No. 3 Hays (16-6)

No. 5 Kapaun Mt. Carmel (17-6)

Class 5A girls

No. 1 McPherson (22-1)

No. 2 Andover Central (22-1)

No. 3 Topeka Seaman (20-3)

No. 4 St. Thomas Aquinas (18-4)

Class 4A boys

No. 2 KC Piper (22-1)

No. 3 Bishop Miege (19-4)

No. 4 Augusta (19-4)

No. 8 Rose Hill (13-10)

Class 4A girls

No. 1 Nickerson (21-2)

No. 3 KC Piper (21-2)

No. 4 Bishop Miege (21-2)

No. 7 Clay Center (16-6)

Class 3A boys

No. 2 Collegiate (21-3)

No. 3 Beloit (21-3)

No. 4 Galena (19-5)

No. 8 St. Marys (14-10)

Class 3A girls

No. 1 Nemaha Central (24-0)

No. 2 Frontenac (22-2)

No. 3 Halstead (21-3)

No. 5 Cheney (21-3)

Class 2A boys

No. 2 Bishop Seabury Academy (21-2)

No. 5 Sterling (20-4)

No. 6 Garden Plain (19-5)

No. 8 Hillsboro (15-9)

Class 2A girls

No. 1 Spearville (24-0)

No. 2 Trego (23-1)

No. 4 Valley Heights (22-2)

No. 6 Garden Plain (19-5)

Class 1A boys

No. 2 Little River (23-3)

No. 3 St. John-Hudson (23-3)

No. 5 South Central (21-5)

No. 8 Stockton (15-11)

Class 1A girls

No. 1 Central Plains (26-0)

No. 3 Olpe (26-0)

No. 4 Hanover (24-1)

No. 7 Centralia (19-8)


Welcome to the new LJWorld.com. Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.