Journal-World 2019 All-Area girls track team

All-Area girls track and field team members are pictured from left: Taylor Breuer, Veritas, Anna Johnson, Bishop Seabury, Hannah Stewart, Lawrence, Asjah Harris, Lawrence, athlete of the year Evann Seratte, Lawrence, coach of the year Jack Hood, Lawrence, Auna Childress, Free State, Kayla Kurtz, Baldwin, Carly Lindenmeyer, Baldwin, Corinn Searcy, Tonganoxie, Cali Coleman, Perry-Lecompton. Not pictured: Riley Hiebert, Eudora.

Athlete of the Year: Evann Seratte, Lawrence

Seratte placed in four events in her final meet, but a fall in the 800-meter run kept her from doing even better. Seratte still scored more points at the state meet in her career than any other athlete — boy or girl — in program history. The KU signee was the anchor on the 4×800-meter relay and 4×400-meter relay, both of which finished inside the top-three.

Coach of the Year: Jack Hood, Lawrence

For the second year in a row, Lawrence’s girls track team came home with a state title. This year’s first-place finish was pure dominance, as the Lions scored 22 points more than the runner-up. It completed a postseason sweep for LHS, which won the Sunflower League meet and regional meet as well.

First team

Kayla Kurtz, Baldwin — To end her Baldwin career, Kurtz ended up claiming two state medals in a pair of field events. Kurtz finished third in the javelin competition, and her best toss of the year was 141-4. Kurtz also placed fourth at the state meet in shot put, in which her best mark was 38-2.

Carly Lindenmeyer, Baldwin — After choosing to compete in indoor track in the winter, Lindenmeyer came back better than ever for her last season with the Bulldogs. Lindenmeyer notched four state medals, including a state title as an anchor in the 4×400-meter relay. Lindenmeyer also placed fourth in long jump, fifth in the 100 hurdles and sixth in the 400.

Anna Johnson, Bishop Seabury — The highlight of Johnson’s season was a third-place finish in the long jump competition with a mark of 13-1. She also ran a season-best time of 32.15 in the 200-meter run during a meet.

Riley Hiebert, Eudora — The junior distance runner earned three medals at the state meet, including a runner-up finish in the 3,200-meter run. Hiebert also placed seventh in the 1,600-meter run and was on the 4×800-meter relay team that took seventh. Hiebert was a Frontier League champion in the 1,600-meter run and a league runner-up in the 3,200-meter run.

Auna Childress, Free State — For the second year in a row, Childress was a runner-up in the Class 6A girls triple jump competition. Earlier in the season, Childress won the event with a school-record leap of 40-9 at the Kansas Relays. Childress also registered fourth in long jump at the state meet.

Hannah Stewart, Lawrence — Across four state medals, Stewart scored 28 points for the Lions to help them defend their crown. Stewart was a runner-up in the 800-meter run, missing first place by the narrowest of margins, and notched third in the 1,600-meter run. Stewart was also on both the 4×400-meter relay and 4×800-meter relay.

Asjah Harris, Lawrence — Harris was one of two individual champions for LHS, winning the 200-meter run with a time of 24.98. She was also on the 4×100-meter relay team, which won a state title for the second season in a row. Harris also placed fourth in the 100-meter run and helped the 4×400-meter relay team take third.

Corinn Searcy, Tonganoxie — For her final season, Searcy netted three school records and three state medals in the 400-meter run, 4×100-meter relay and 4×400-meter relay. Searcy finished fifth in the 400, which was her third state medal in the event during her four-year career.

Cali Coleman, Perry-Lecompton — Even though Coleman didn’t claim a state medal, it was still a strong season. She finished as a runner-up in the Big Seven league meet in the long jump, 100-meter run and the 4×100-meter relay. She finished fourth in all three events at the regional meet.

Taylor Breuer, Veritas — Breuer was a runner-up in the 800-meter run at the Oskaloosa Invitational to highlight her sophomore season.

Honorable mention

Natalie Beiter, Baldwin; Amaya Harris, Lawrence; Darby Harris, Bishop Seabury; Summer Hartzler, Bishop Seabury; Josie Hickerson, Lawrence; Mia Manley, Eudora; Layce McCoy, Tonganoxie; Rylee Paramore, Perry-Lecompton; Laila Robinson, Free State; Talisa Stone, Perry-Lecompton; Chloe Thakker, Eudora; Trinity Touchton, Tonganoxie.


Welcome to the new Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.