Preps notebook: Veritas boys claim 61-60 win in overtime thriller

photo by: Chris Duderstadt

Veritas junior Tucker Flory drives in for a transition layup in the first half of the Eagles' 55-52 win over Bishop Seabury on Jan. 5 at Haskell's Coffin Sports Complex.

The Veritas boys basketball team edged Omaha Roadrunners, 61-60, in overtime Saturday afternoon.

Veritas scored 26 points in the opening period, pouring in 20 more in the final period. As a team, the Eagles shot 48.9 percent from the floor. They outrebounded the opposition by a 30-18 margin, as well.

In overtime, Veritas posted an 8-7 advantage in overtime to clinch the narrow victory.

“We had one of the best high school games that I have coached tonight against Omaha Roadrunners,” Veritas coach Carl Huslig said.

Trey Huslig led the Eagles with 22 points on 5-of-16 shooting. He also collected eight rebounds, which tied Scott Weinhold for the most on the team. Tucker Flory scored 21 points, shooting 10-for-15 from the floor. Reed Wilson scored 10 points, while Jackson Rau finished with five steals.

FSHS swim takes 2nd

For the first time all season, Free State’s boys swim team did not win a meet.

The Firebirds, who won their first two meets to start the season, finished second out of 18 teams at the Olathe Invitational. Free State won three events, scoring 284.5 points to finish behind Blue Valley North’s winning mark of 324 points. LHS placed 13th with 59 points.

Reilley Moore won a pair of events to propel FSHS to a runner-up finish. The sophomore won the 200-yard individual medley with a time of 2:02.07, and he also notched first in the 100 fly with a mark of 52.20.

Freshman Benjamin Vorthmann clinched the top spot in the 100 free with a time of 49.30.

For Lawrence, sophomore Tyler Jones posted the highest finish by claiming third in the 500 free with a time of 5:14.02.

Both teams will return to action at 3:30 p.m. Wednesday at Shawnee Mission North.

Olathe Invitational

Team scores: 1. Blue Valley North 324; 2. Free State 284.5; 3. Shawnee Mission East 263.5; 4. Blue Valley West 224; 5. Olathe East HS 219; 6. Olathe Northwest HS 167; 7. Olathe South High School 158; 8. Blue Valley Northwest 133; 9. Manhattan High School 119.5; 10. Shawnee Mission North 102.5; 11. Shawnee Mission Northwest 75; 12. Blue Valley 66; 13. Lawrence High 59; 14. Shawnee Mission South 43; 15. Olathe North Eagles 35.5; 16. St. Thomas Aquinas 25.5; 17. Shawnee Mission West 17; 18. Olathe West High School 6.

FSHS/LHS results

200 medley relay: 2. Jake Viscomi, Riley Sirimongkhon-Dyck, Reilley Moore, David Stuart, FS, 1:42.76.

200 free: 3. Chad Anderson, FS, 1:50.42; 12. Finn VanDyke, FS, 1:59.02; 27. Trenton Hartman, FS, 2:11.23; 29. Nathan Stoddard, LHS, 2:13.61.

200 IM: 1. Relley Moore, FS, 2:02.07; 19. Giovani Lule-Paredes, LHS, 2:19.51; 27. Jacob Heinz, FS, 2:29.34; 30. Zach Bollinger, FS, 2:32.67.

50 free: 3. Benjamin Vorthmann, FS, 22.45; 11. Brady Flynn, FS, 23.77; 20. David Stuart, FS, 24.31; 32. Luke Dunlap, LHS, 25.27; 36. Trenton Hartman, FS, 25.66; 40. Andrew Severn, LHS, 26.12;48. Logan Grose, LHS, 27.49.

Diving: 13. Salvador Good, LHS, 256.05; 14. Keyan Crawford, 255.25.

100 fly: 1. Reilley Moore, FS, 52.50; 9. Jake Viscomi, FS, 58.07; 12. Riley Sirimongkhon-Dyck, FS, 58.51.

100 free: 1. Benjamin Vorthmann, FS, 49.30; 7. Brady Flynn, FS, 51.91; 15. Braden Augustine, LHS, 53.80; 25. David Stuart, FS, 55.49.

500 free: 3. Tyler Jones, LHS, 5:14.02; 10. Devon Lyle, FS, 5:29.71; 11. Giovani Lule-Paredes, LHS, 5:30.09.

200 free relay: 2. Benjamin Vorthmann, Riley Sirimongkhon-Dyck, Brady Flynn, Chad Anderson, FS, 1:31.92; 15. Braden Augustine, Andrew Severn, Luke Dunlap, Tyler Jones, LHS, 1:40.19.

100 back: 5. Jake Viscomi, FS, 59.99; 9. Devon Lyle, FS, 1:02.51; 14. Finn VanDyke, FS, 1:03.55.

100 breast: 4. Riley Sirimongkhon-Dyck, FS, 1:04.32; 11. Chad Anderson, FS, 1:06.44; 22. Logan Grose, LHS, 1:12.80; 29. Andrew Severn, LHS, 1:15.09.

400 free relay: 2. Brady Flynn, Benjamin Vorthmann, Chad Anderson, Reilley Moore, FS, 3:18.39; 12. Finn VanDyke, Jacob Heinz, Trenton Harman, Jake Viscomi, FS, 3:40.94; 13. Braden Augustine, Giovani Lule-Paredes, Luke Dulap, Tyler Jones, LHS, 3:44.10.

LHS wrestling notches 8th

Lawrence High’s wrestling team placed eighth at the Eudora Tournament of Championships Saturday afternoon.

Lansing won the event, which featured 15 teams, by scoring 179 points. Emporia and Spring Hill claimed second and third, respectively. Eudora took seventh with 118.5 points. The Lions, meanwhile, finished with 85 points to place eighth.

Logan Farrell led the Lions with a first-place finish in the 113-pound weight class, defeating Eudora’s Joe Faircloth via fall. Farrell, who is ranked No. 4 in his weight class by the Kansas Wrestling Coaches Association, is now 6-0 on the season.

AJ Powell (182) and Kevin Honas (106) placed third in their respective weight class. Honas is now 8-3 on the year, while Powell improved to 5-5. In addition, EJ Jewsome placed fourth, and Gentry Dennison recorded fifth. Dylan Gillespie and Ethan Rorabaugh each took sixth, as well.

The showing came exactly one day after Lawrence bested Blue Valley in a road dual by a 47-18 margin.

LHS will return to action at 9 a.m. Saturday in Emporia.

Eudora tournament of champions

LHS results

106: Kevin Honas (8-3) placed 3rd and scored 19.0 team points.

113: Logan Farrell (6-0) placed 1st and scored 27.0 team points.

126: Zach Razak (2-7) place is unknown and scored 5.0 team points.

145: Henry DeWitt (0-4) place is unknown and scored 0.0 team points.

170: Justin Miller (4-6) placed 7th.

170: Dylan Gillespie (4-5) placed 6th and scored 5.0 team points.

182: AJ. Powell (5-5) placed 3rd and scored 13.0 team points.

195: Gentry Dennison (2-3) placed 5th and scored 5.0 team points.

220: Ethan Rorabaugh (0-8) placed 6th and scored 0.0 team points.

285: EJae Jewsome (5-2) placed 4th and scored 11.0 team points.

Friday’s dual

Lawrence 47, Blue Valley 18

106: Hunter Girard (LAWR) over Jacob Olmstead (OPBV) (Fall 3:13)

106: Jacob Olmstead (OPBV) over Jonathan Marquez de Casa (LAWR) (Fall 1:54)

126: Joey Haake (LAWR) over Coen Ward (OPBV) (Fall 1:21)

126: Joey Haake (LAWR) over Colin Taylor (OPBV) (Fall 3:14)

160: Justin Miller (LAWR) over Sammy Acosta (OPBV) (Dec 6-3)

160: Tomas Ortiz (LAWR) over Clayton Kavlick (OPBV) (Dec 3-2)

170: Tomas Ortiz (LAWR) over Logan Boerner (OPBV) (Fall 4:59)

182: Jalerio Wahwahsuck (LAWR) over Cole Jaron (OPBV) (TF 19-3 6:00)

182: Jalerio Wahwahsuck (LAWR) over Mike Earney (OPBV) (Fall 3:20)

220: Stanley Kenyi (OPBV) over Clayton Goodell (LAWR) (Fall 1:27)

220: Carson Taylor (OPBV) over Kyle Miller (LAWR) (Fall 3:09)

220: Kyle Miller (LAWR) over AJ Lietz (OPBV) (Fall 1:53)


Welcome to the new Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.