Letter to the editor: Voting against the rule of law

To the editor:

The bedrock in the history of our country is respect for the rule of law. The ultimate expression of the rule of law is the peaceful transfer of power, particularly from one political party to another. This sacred tenet was established by George Washington.

On Jan. 6, 2021 — following the insurrection at the Capitol based on the Big Lie that President Trump had been reelected — 139 members of the House of Representatives voted to disrupt the peaceful transfer of power. They voted against recognizing the legitimately elected, court upheld delegates from Pennsylvania. Their votes were against the rule of law, against a fundamental tenet of democracy.

Voters in Douglas County will vote for two positions in the U.S. House of Representatives Tuesday: the 1st District, now held by Rep. Tracy Mann, and the 2nd District, now held by Rep. Jacob LaTurner. Both of the incumbents were among the 139 who voted to disrupt the peaceful transfer of power, the bedrock of democracy.

Consider these facts — both representatives opposed democracy — when you vote Tuesday.

Ed Quick,



Welcome to the new LJWorld.com. Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.