Gov. Kelly appoints 3 members to Kansas Board of Regents, including Wint Winter Jr., of Lawrence

Wint Winter Jr.

Gov. Laura Kelly on Wednesday appointed three new members to the Kansas Board of Regents.

The three are Carl Ice, Cynthia Lane and Wint Winter Jr., according to a news release from the governor’s office.

“These individuals are highly qualified, forward-thinking, and committed to safeguarding our state’s world-class higher education system,” Kelly said. “I look forward to working with them and the entire Board of Regents to develop sustainable partnerships with education stakeholders, implement top tier workforce development programs, and leverage our colleges and universities as engines for economic growth.”

Carl Ice

Carl Ice is the former president and CEO of BNSF Railway, where he worked for 42 years. Ice is currently the vice chairman of the KSU Foundation Board of Directors, a member of The Salvation Army National Board of Directors and a former member of the KSU Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering Advisory Council. Ice received an associate degree from Coffeyville Community College and a bachelor’s in industrial engineering from Kansas State University.

Cynthia Lane

Cynthia Lane has more than 36 years of professional experience in the field of education. Lane is currently the CEO of Evolve Education Leadership L.L.C. and serves on both the Governor’s Council of Education and the Advantage Kansas Coordinating Council. Lane was the superintendent of Kansas City, Kan., Public Schools from 2010 to 2018, and received her doctorate from the University of Kansas and undergraduate degrees from Pittsburg State University.

Wint Winter Jr., of Lawrence, is a fifth-generation Kansan. He is currently a partner at Stevens & Brand, L.L.P., and previously was CEO and co-chairman of Peoples Bank & Peoples Inc. Winter served in the Kansas Senate from 1982 to 1992, and received bachelor’s and law degrees from KU.

The Kansas Board of Regents is a bipartisan, nine-member board composed of members who serve for a staggered period of four years. Each member is appointed by the governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate.


Welcome to the new Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.