3 Bishop Seabury Academy students named National Merit Scholar semifinalists

photo by: Submitted photo/Bishop Seabury Academy

Three students from Lawrence’s Bishop Seabury Academy — Ella Blake, Jack Blonigen and Hilary Griggs — have been named National Merit Scholar semifinalists, the school announced this week.

Approximately 1.6 million high school students enter the National Merit Scholarship Program every year, and about 16,000 of those students qualify as semifinalists based on scoring on a qualifying test, according to the organization’s website.

Finalists will be notified in February, and about 8,000 winners of scholarships will notified in March, according to the organization.

Related story

10 Lawrence school district seniors named National Merit Scholar semifinalists


Welcome to the new LJWorld.com. Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.