3 Douglas County District Court, 6 state judges set to retain positions

photo by: Journal-World File Photo

The Douglas County Judicial and Law Enforcement Center is pictured in this file photo from Aug. 4, 2020.

All three Douglas County District Court judges on the ballot were set to retain their positions in Tuesday’s vote, as were six state judges up for retention.

As of Douglas County results updated at 9:13 p.m. Tuesday, District Court Chief Judge James McCabria was retained with 66.3% of the vote. Judge Kay Huff was retained with 80.5%, and Judge Mark Simpson with 80.3%.

As of 9:30 p.m. Tuesday, with about half the state’s precincts reporting, Kansas Supreme Court Justice Eric Rosen, of Topeka, had retained his seat with 70% of the vote, according to the Kansas Secretary of State’s website. He held 77.2% in Douglas County.

On the Kansas Court of Appeals, Chief Judge Karen Arnold-Burger, of Overland Park, was retained with 77% of the vote from Douglas County voters.

Four other appeals court judges were also retained by Douglas County voters: as of the 9:13 p.m. results, Judge Sarah Warner, of Lenexa, was retained with 78.9% of the vote; Judge David Bruns, of Olathe, with 61.4%; Judge G. Gordon Atcheson, of Overland Park, with 75.1%%; and Judge Kathryn Gardner, of Topeka, with 62.8%.


Welcome to the new LJWorld.com. Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.