KU chancellor names committee for provost search

photo by: Chris Conde

Strong Hall on the University of Kansas campus is shown on Sept. 13, 2018.

The University of Kansas’ search for a permanent provost will begin later this month, Chancellor Douglas Girod said in a message to the campus community.

Girod on Friday named Michelle Mohr Carney, dean of KU’s School of Social Welfare, and Steven A. Soper, a foundation distinguished professor of chemistry and mechanical engineering, as the co-chairs of a university committee that will lead the search effort.

Additionally, R. William Funk and Associates will serve as an outside consultant to assist in the search. Girod said the firm has assisted the university in several previous searches.

Other members of the search committee include:

• Shawn Alexander, incoming Faculty Senate president

• Tricia Bergman, director of strategic partnerships for the Office of Research

• Chris Brown, graduate student body vice president

• John Dicus, CEO, chairman and president of Capitol Federal Savings

• Tammara Durham, vice provost for student affairs

• Tiara Floyd, student body president

• Michelle Ginavan Hayes, outgoing Staff Senate president

• Ted Juhl, School of Business professor

• Joanna Slusky, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences assistant professor

• Suzanne Valdez, incoming University Senate president

• David Volkin, School of Pharmacy distinguished professor

• Kevin Willmott, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences professor

“This is an exciting and important search for the University of Kansas,” Girod said in his message. “I am confident this position will attract strong candidates from across the country.”

Girod previously told the Journal-World he expected the search to last until the middle of the upcoming fall semester and a new provost could take the position as early as January 2020.

Carl Lejuez is currently serving as the interim provost for the university. Lejuez’s full-time position is dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. John Colombo will soon be serving in that position as an interim.


Welcome to the new LJWorld.com. Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.