Prep district assignments set for 2016, ’17 seasons

The Kansas High School Activities Association released district football assignments for the 2016 and 2017 seasons on Wednesday.

In Class 6A and 5A, teams are no longer assigned football districts. Instead, they will play an eight-game regular season before being split into east and west brackets and seeded 1 through 16 for the ninth game.

Lawrence High will placed in the east bracket and Free State will be in the west bracket.

Among area teams in 4A-I, Tonganoxie was placed in district 1 along with Atchison, Basehor-Linwood and KC-Piper. Eudora and De Soto were put in district 2 with Bishop Miege and Spring Hill. Ottawa is in district 3 with Fort Scott, Louisburg and Paola.

In 4A-II, Santa Fe Trail will play in district 1 along with Holton, Jefferson West and Topeka Hayden. Baldwin was placed in district 2 with Bishop Ward, Prairie View and Oswatomie.

In 3A, Oskaloosa and Perry-Lecompton were placed in district 3 with Royal Valley and Silver Lake. Wellsville will play in district 5 with Osage City, Pomona-West Franklin and Central Heights.

In 2-1A, McLouth is in district 1 with Highland-Doniphan West, Horton and Jefferson County North.