Group seeks champions of open government

The group will give the award to a Douglas County resident above the age of 18 who has worked to an promote community participation, accessibility or better decision-making within any level of government.

“It’s just unique in that it is not just for general service,” said Lee Ketzel of the Lawrence League of Women Voters. “It honors concentration on citizen access to open government and helping to watchdog development so access is not restricted in the community.”

The award is named after Helen Fluker, a long time participant in the LWV, who also worked for the U.S army and the State Department.

“She was always working toward more open access toward government so her family decided this was a good way to preserve her memory,” Ketzel said.

The winner of the award will receive a silver plate inscribed with his or her name and be honored at the award luncheon March 9.

Nomination forms can be downloaded from and are due Feb. 23.

Former winners include Scott Criqui, Marci Francisco and Jamie Shew.