Scouting news

Cub Scout Pack 3370, chartered to the Deerfield PTA, conducted its Blue & Gold Awards Banquet Feb. 23 at Plymouth Congregational Church. Scoutmasters conducting the ceremonies were Wayne Dedloff of Pack 3370, Scott Braden of Troop 55 and Eric Muetz of Troop 53.

Second-year Webelo Scouts awarded the Arrow Of Light, the highest award in Cub Scouting, were Matthew Meseke, Lane Nations, Jon Mitts, Seth Winchester and Logan Dedloff.

Boy Scout Troop 55 welcomed Lane Nations, Jon Mitts and Seth Winchester into their membership; and Troop 53 welcomed Matthew Meseke.

Eudora Boy Scout Troop 64, chartered to the Eudora Lions Club, participated in the Pelathe District Winter Camporee Feb. 27-28 at Naish Scout Reservation, near Bonner Springs. The Scouts set up tents Friday night and woke Saturday morning with a thick blanket of snow on the ground and their tents. By midday Saturday about five inches of snow had fallen, with wind gusts between 10 and 25 mph, actual temperatures from 14 to 30 degrees, and wind chill between 11 to 20 degrees. During the camporee, Scouts reviewed knots, lashings and first aid, and made rope, which they used to lash fallen timbers together to make sleds. The boys participated in a quarter-mile sled race, with one boy riding and the rest pulling and pushing the sled around the course. Troop 64 won first place and received gift certificates to Chipotle’s Mexican Grill and a bag of Brach’s chocolate stars.

Scouts participating were Connor Bradley, Alex Whitten, Nathan Bradley, Jonathan Morrison, Colin Forsberg, Tom Stanley, Nathan Gentleman and Patrick Bradley. Andrew Rome, from Troop 65 in Baldwin City, also camped with the troop. Adult leaders included Jim Morrison, Damon Bradley, Jerry Criqui and Duane Gentleman. John Scott helped with transportation.

Baldwin Boy Scout Troop 65 had a Court of Honor Feb. 22 at the Baldwin Elementary School Intermediate Center. Several Scouts and adult Scout leaders were recognized. Brian Jones and Sam Richards earned the Personal Management merit badge. Kenneth Graves and Noah Pippert achieved Tenderfoot rank. Mark Shuck, troop committee member, completed hazardous weather training. Seven individuals received service stars in recognition for years served, with Betty Lawrenz receiving special honors for 45 years of service. Troop members earned a total of 104 blue camping beads.

Boards of review were March 7 for the Catholic Boy Scout Religious Emblems Ad Altare Dei, for Catholic Boy Scouts in seventh and eighth grade, and Pope Pius XII, for Catholic Boy Scouts and Venture Crew members in ninth grade through 21 years of age. Earning the emblem for their age group:

Ad Altare Dei — Thomas Peterson, Troop 52; Sean Morris, Troop 53; and Brian Morris, Troop 53; all from Corpus Christi Parish, and Clayton Pfeifer, Troop 55, and Matthew Dominguez, Troop 52, both from St. John the Evangelist Parish. All also earned the Vocation Awareness Patch.

Pope Pius XII — Jacob Pfeifer, Troop 55, and Dominick Reiske, Troop 52, both from St. John the Evangelist Parish.

All awards will be presented by Archbishop Naumann on April 26 at St. Patrick’s Cathedral.