Lawrence leaders ready for class

Chamber program welcomes another 30 members

Mini Kaur, left, and Selma Southard, who are 2007-08 participants in Leadership Lawrence, share a laugh at a reception for the new class Thursday at CornerBank, 4621 W. Sixth St. Kaur, who is self-employed, and Southard, a Douglas County employee, are among 30 leaders selected for the ongoing Lawrence Chamber of Commerce program designed to build active leadership in the community.

Patrick Manning’s been living in Lawrence for 13 years, working for McDonald’s for eight years and serving on the board of directors for Lawrence Education Achievement Partners for more than three years.

Now, as a member of the 2007-08 class for Leadership Lawrence, Manning knows he’s about to embark on a year unlike any other.

“It will be great to see behind the scenes of this great community,” said Manning, who works as marketing supervisor for Dobski & Associates, the Lawrence-based company that owns 14 McDonald’s restaurants in northeast Kansas. “We love Lawrence, so I’m really excited to get behind the scenes of the city.”

He won’t be alone.

Manning is among 30 leaders selected for and enrolled in the latest edition of Leadership Lawrence, the Lawrence Chamber of Commerce’s annual program designed to inspire and strengthen active leadership in the community.

New class members were honored during a public reception Thursday evening at CornerBank, 4621 W. Sixth St.

Class members will spend eight months in the program, starting with a two-day retreat concentrating on leadership and skill building Sept. 27-28 and continuing with sessions covering various topics of interest, such as government, social services and others.

The class: Jennifer Alderdice, KU Alumni Association; Cheryl Beatty, city of Eudora; Judith Bellome, Douglas County Visiting Nurses Association; Becca Booth, Lawrence Chamber of Commerce; Joe Caldwell, Bartlett and West Inc.; Bryan Culver, Peoples Bank; Kelly Evans, Trinity In-Home Health Care Inc.; Paula Gilchrist, Douglas County treasurer; Matthew Harms, Lawrence Memorial Hospital; and Brian Iverson, US Bank.

Also: Thomas Karasek, CEK Insurance; Mini Kaur, self-employed; Scott Kimzey, Harris Construction Co. Inc.; Kevin Lashley, Sunflower Broadband; Michael Machell, Prescriptions Solutions; Manning, Dobski & Associates; Trent McKinley, Lawrence Police Department; Mercedes Taylor-Puckett, Lawrence Farmers Market; Emily Morehouse, K-State Research & Extension; and Amber Nickel, Pawsh Wash and Pet Health Market.

Also: Shannon Oury, Stevens & Brand LLP; Daniel Pennington, St. Paul’s Episcopal School; Derek Rogers, Kansas Air National Guard; Carol Seager, Watkins Health Center; Jamie Shew, Douglas County clerk; Selma Southard, Douglas County; Catherine Theisen, Barber Emerson LC; Michael VanZuiden, Aquila; Barry Walthall, city of Lawrence; and Toni Wheeler, city of Lawrence.