Scouting news

Pelathe District had its annual Eagle Scout recognition dinner on Oct. 14 at the Lawrence Country Club. The dinner honored Scouts who reached the rank of Eagle from Oct. 1, 2003, to Sept. 30, 2004. A record 38 Scouts achieved the high rank, which was above the national average.

James Terry, Heart of America Council executive, was the keynote speaker and talked about improvements to H. Roe Bartle Scout Reservation and Camp Theodore Naish Scout Reservation. Keith Wood was master of ceremonies. He introduced each Eagle and spoke about each of the Scouts’ Eagle projects. Each Scout received an Eagle Scout paperweight as well as a citation from the Kansas National Guard. About 80 people and 28 Eagle Scouts attended.

Those who earned the Eagle rank were: Russell Davies, Troop 60; Nicholas Hilpman, Gary Gardner, John Armstrong, Jordan Wright, Travis Sutheimer, Anson Stancliffe, Christopher Bergman, Kelly Taylor, Alex Anderson, Weston Norwood, Jacob Esau, Brian Workman, David Stogsdill, Daniel Bergman, Donnie Clancy, Britten Beasley, Benjamin Chapin, James Garito, Colin Kappelman and Samuel Gleeson, Troop, 59; Mitchell Grant, Andrew Schmidt, Joshua Arnold, Benjamin Robertson and Hamilton Lewis, Troop 53; Adam Buhler, Tyler Gill and Don Robertson, Troop 58; Mark Westgate, Troop 65; Justin Deaver, Mason McCurdy, Philip Gilreath and William Berkowitz, Troop 52; Bryant Denning, Joshua Sanderson and Kitley Jewell, Troop 55; and Malcolm Miller, Troop 61.